WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop
10-01-2009, 10:21 PM
Post: #1
Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop
I use my laptop running Windows XP to access my desktop running Windows 7 using remote desktop. Both are running WhatPulse.

When using RD to use my desktop, keys and clicks are counted fine on the Windows 7 machine, but cursor distance seems really off. Moving my mouse cursor across the screen onces seems to add 10-15 metres to my distance. This is way more than is added when I'm using the Windows 7 machine normally. Distance seems to be tracked normally on both machines when I'm not using RD.

Has anyone else experienced a similar issue?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2009, 10:23 PM
Post: #2
Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop
Sportyboard Wrote:I use my laptop running Windows XP to access my desktop running Windows 7 using remote desktop. Both are running WhatPulse.

When using RD to use my desktop, keys and clicks are counted fine on the Windows 7 machine, but cursor distance seems really off. Moving my mouse cursor across the screen onces seems to add 10-15 metres to my distance. This is way more than is added when I'm using the Windows 7 machine normally. Distance seems to be tracked normally on both machines when I'm not using RD.

Has anyone else experienced a similar issue?

I'm going to let this thread stay open, just for information and possible comments. As usual, DO NOT turn this into a complaint on how the official staff do not provide support for Windows 7 at the moment.

Thank you.
~Century0
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2009, 01:01 AM
Post: #3
Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop
I figured this thread would be okay... because 1) the mileage doesn't "jump" excessively - it's constantly counting up really really quickly, and 2) it's a problem that occurs only when I use the computer via remote desktop.

I know that Windows 7 technically isn't supported yet, and I can't totally understand why it isn't supported yet, but I'm thinking this may be a problem with remote desktop in general rather than Windows 7 specifically.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2009, 04:23 AM
Post: #4
Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop
Sportyboard Wrote:I know that Windows 7 technically isn't supported yet, and I can't totally understand why it isn't supported yet, but I'm thinking this may be a problem with remote desktop in general rather than Windows 7 specifically.

Because the developers, AKA me and Wasted, don't have Windows 7 which makes it impossible to support it AND it's not officially released yet.

As to your second point, you're right. Remote Desktop doesn't work properly on any OS with WhatPulse.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2009, 12:43 AM
Post: #5
Screwy distance tracking using Remote Desktop
Remote desktop also is strange as it tracks two computers in one stroke if your using Whatpulse on both of them. But I have never seen anything wrong with mileage, even when both computers are using Windows 7.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Uptime problem on Desktop. JetSet 3 717 03-15-2020 01:19 PM
Last Post: JetSet
  Macro's And Click Tracking ssnake42069 0 601 08-27-2019 06:22 PM
Last Post: ssnake42069
  Not tracking a certain application d1tzl 1 747 08-26-2019 04:35 PM
Last Post: DrEx
Information [CLOSED] Mouse distance counter in Windows client. TigraPolosatiy 1 1,518 02-27-2017 05:30 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] Win10 x64 | Start Menu / Context Menu / Desktop becomes unresponsive Anthraxium-64 1 1,370 10-31-2016 08:24 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Uptime not tracking correctly (windows 10) RuneRifle 0 1,370 05-05-2016 11:04 PM
Last Post: RuneRifle
  Unpulsed Uptime Tracking Incorrectly NefariousDestiny 2 1,645 04-21-2016 06:43 PM
Last Post: NefariousDestiny
  Laptop trackpad tracking KuraiHikari 0 1,225 06-03-2015 05:44 PM
Last Post: KuraiHikari
  Question about Bandwith Tracking Dark_wizzie 1 2,637 02-28-2014 10:01 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Whatpulse is tracking LAN activity mupet0000 13 14,869 03-05-2013 04:45 PM
Last Post: mupet0000

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)