WhatPulse Forums » Community » Beta client » Archive v » WhatPulse 2.7b1 Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
WhatPulse 2.7b1
12-31-2015, 05:31 PM (This post was last modified: 12-31-2015 05:36 PM by smitmartijn.)
Post: #1
WhatPulse 2.7b1
Hello and Happy New Year!

Just in time for 2015 (although, depends on where you are), we're very excited to present the first beta of the new WhatPulse version 2.7. There are 2 major features and a few minor.

High DPI on Windows
Computers with very high resolutions/DPI are becoming the standard, but the client did not present itself properly on Windows. To fix this, we've had to dynamically resize everything inside the client (buttons, views, lists, etc, etc), which is one of the reason why proper Windows high resolution support took longer than the other operating systems.

Check it out and be critical of every interface element. :-)

Types of Network Traffic
The client can measure your network traffic, which is currently used for per interface, application and country traffic for a while. But what about the types of traffic? How much does a certain network port use, or how much traffic do you use for your back-up service?

The descriptions of the types of traffic are dynamic and can change over time. If you want to help fill the database, tell us!

With the new page on the networking tab, you can see exactly how much traffic a network service is using. This is the first draft of that page, stay tuned for more updates of this page in the upcoming beta versions!

Misc Stuff
Besides these great new features, we've also done a lot of work on the local database connection. To keep it simple, we've done some database magic and cut the hard disk usage of the client in half!

Other changes are; a auto pulse option to pulse on every client start and new Advanced setting buttons to manually update your network GeoIP database and the new Network Port Descriptions database (this is for the types of traffic).

Downloads:
You can also use the updater if you have the "check for betas" option enabled.

- Windows: http://static.whatpulse.org/files/beta/w...-2.7b1.exe
- OS X: http://static.whatpulse.org/files/beta/w...-2.7b1.dmg

Changes:
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-31-2015, 07:39 PM (This post was last modified: 12-31-2015 07:39 PM by commentator.)
Post: #2
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
Updating from 2.6.3-1277? is not working with updater (on Win 10).
Download from link above still 2.6.3-1277 and auto updater tells me there is a new version
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-31-2015, 11:49 PM (This post was last modified: 01-01-2016 12:12 AM by Robby250.)
Post: #3
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
I've downloaded the Windows installer, installer just doesn't want to launch after doubleclicking. Cursor is stuck on a 'Working in Background' animation while hovering over the download folder. Tried restarting, redownloading the installer, etc.

Using the Check for Updates with beta checks enabled, it said it found the 2.7b1 update, but then it updated to version 2.6.3-1277 (beta).
I'm guessing this is the 2.7b1 version but it's mislabeled?

I'm running Windows 10 x64 bit.

Edit: Yeah it seems the update is mislabeled, I have the Type Traffic tab in Network, but it looks empty after using it for ~10 minutes: http://i.imgur.com/MtXP1zI.png . Not sure how it's supposed to work though.

[Image: 491518.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 12:16 AM
Post: #4
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
(12-31-2015 11:49 PM)Robby250 Wrote:  but then it updated to version 2.6.3-1277 (beta).I'm guessing this is the 2.7b1 version but it's mislabeled?

Check this: http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=6197

(12-31-2015 11:49 PM)Robby250 Wrote:  but it looks empty after using it for ~10 minutes:

WinPCap is required for it to work, same as the applications.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 12:36 AM
Post: #5
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
I updated to this beta several hours ago now and the type traffic tab section is still showing up empty like Robby's..I do have WinPCap installed of course, because I have had network stats enabled ever since I was aware it was possible to track them.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 01:29 AM (This post was last modified: 01-01-2016 01:21 AM by Robby250.)
Post: #6
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
(01-01-2016 12:16 AM)smitmartijn Wrote:  WinPCap is required for it to work, same as the applications.
I do have WinPCap, network download and upload work just fine. Didn't change anything since updating to Windows 10 though, I still have the Windows 7 WinPCap I think. Traffic Type page is still exactly the same as that screenshot.

(01-01-2016 12:16 AM)smitmartijn Wrote:  Check this: http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=6197

Oops, my bad Tongue

[Image: 491518.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 10:15 AM
Post: #7
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
(01-01-2016 12:16 AM)smitmartijn Wrote:  
(12-31-2015 11:49 PM)Robby250 Wrote:  but then it updated to version 2.6.3-1277 (beta).I'm guessing this is the 2.7b1 version but it's mislabeled?

Check this: http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=6197

Yes, except the auto-updater keeps telling there is an update Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 12:39 PM
Post: #8
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
Also, I know I haven't mentioned it, but make sure you enable the option for the traffic types in the client settings.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 02:49 PM
Post: #9
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
(01-01-2016 12:39 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  Also, I know I haven't mentioned it, but make sure you enable the option for the traffic types in the client settings.

it is on by default?
Looks like something is not ok as it is empty


Attached File(s)
.jpg  emptytraffic.jpg (Size: 62.46 KB / Downloads: 144)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-01-2016, 04:16 PM
Post: #10
RE: WhatPulse 2.7b1
(01-01-2016 02:49 PM)commentator Wrote:  it is on by default?

Check your settings and find out. :-)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  WhatPulse 2.7.2b1 smitmartijn 13 1,802 12-04-2016 07:36 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.7b3 smitmartijn 17 3,816 06-07-2016 11:37 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.7b2 smitmartijn 14 3,059 01-26-2016 05:36 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b5 smitmartijn 14 6,238 08-04-2015 05:12 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b4 smitmartijn 14 5,593 04-24-2015 01:43 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b3 Megachip 9 3,068 04-07-2015 07:15 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  WhatPulse 2.6b2 smitmartijn 10 6,246 03-25-2015 01:17 PM
Last Post: Megachip
  WhatPulse 2.6b1 smitmartijn 21 8,264 03-14-2015 05:56 PM
Last Post: commentator
  WhatPulse 2.4.1b4 smitmartijn 5 4,108 09-29-2014 04:06 AM
Last Post: Godric
  WhatPulse 2.4.1b3 smitmartijn 8 7,759 09-09-2014 07:29 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)