WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
09-05-2015, 09:37 AM (This post was last modified: 09-05-2015 09:39 AM by Megachip.)
Post: #1
[OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
What happend?
[Image: attachment.php?aid=867]
Never seen this before


Attached File(s)
.jpg  WP WTF.jpg (Size: 28.96 KB / Downloads: 322)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2015, 08:41 PM
Post: #2
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
Hmm, weird. The only reason to open a file the client has is to check for application info when that application is being used. There's no code to look into key dictionaries, where that key should be stored in..

One other condition I can think of is that the networking module inside OS X (pcap) needs the key for it to be able to look at network traffic, but I have never seen it do that in the time I've used it and I use OS X as my primary OS..

Are you sure it's a legitimate client, has it been downloaded from our website?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-15-2015, 11:53 AM (This post was last modified: 09-15-2015 11:55 AM by Megachip.)
Post: #3
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
(09-11-2015 08:41 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  Are you sure it's a legitimate client, has it been downloaded from our website?
Yep, almost sure. Client is installed since years, only autoupdater used. Never seen this before, but looks it is not an 10.9 problem and I'm not the only one:
http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=6892

MD5 (whatpulse) = 4f88f78586b4b1c1ab79b486f482170b
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-16-2015, 08:37 AM
Post: #4
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
Hmm, interesting. On my 10.10.5, I've never seen this dialog. But it only connects to 802.1x wifi. Should give him a try on a wpa network Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-28-2015, 06:41 AM
Post: #5
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
Have only seen this behavior on WPA2 networks, but did not experience it when I was using WPA2-Enterprise at university. Only at encrypted hotspots and other people's homes, where they don't run enterprise routers.

Same here, regarding "Always Allow": It doesn't remember the permission, even for the same network.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2016, 09:39 AM
Post: #6
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
I'm having the same issue and it's becoming very annoying.
Is there any fix to make it stop asking for the keychain access or atleast have it remember the setting?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-18-2016, 04:53 PM (This post was last modified: 03-18-2016 04:55 PM by Nissehamp.)
Post: #7
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
OSX 10.11.3 and WP 2.7 here. (downloaded directly from this website)
I have the same problem, but also only on WPA and WPA2 Personal-wifi's (my old apartment, my current one, and the hotspot of my phone.)

It's quite annoying as it is on top of pretty much everything, and keeps popping up, regardless of which option you choose.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2016, 05:13 PM
Post: #8
RE: [OSX 10.9.5][WP 2.6.3]WP wanna access my WPA Key
I'm having the same issue, so I'm just adding what information I have to see if someone can find a solution.

We have multiple networks at my house, and I was connected to one when Whatpulse asked for my keychain access for the other. on a whim I clicked "allow" and when I checked again, it had actually switched which network I was on.
Other times when the wifi router is having issues or rebooting, Whatpulse will get ornery and the keychain thing will pop up so often I can't actually keep the wifi dropdown menu open long enough to reconnect because it keeps getting interrupted.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  WhatPulse keeps asking permission to access Keychain moray95 1 1,534 09-15-2015 11:52 AM
Last Post: Megachip
  [CLOSED] Updating to 2.6 for portable versions without admin access. Strazdas 4 1,632 05-14-2015 05:09 AM
Last Post: Strazdas
  WhatPulse not working in Microsoft Access? AWilliams@barnstone.co.za 6 5,955 03-24-2014 07:19 AM
Last Post: AWilliams@barnstone.co.za
  I lost access to my WhatPulse account Tythor Zeth 2 4,067 04-30-2011 06:06 AM
Last Post: X-Kal
  Strange Errors No access to /some/path/event9 idle0ne 10 2,646 10-06-2010 06:24 PM
Last Post: jmrk

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)