WhatPulse Forums » Feature requests » Client software v » Installer message if Whatpulse is still running Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Installer message if Whatpulse is still running
04-05-2009, 01:48 PM
Post: #1
Installer message if Whatpulse is still running
When I tried to update WhatPulse 1.6 to 1.6.2 using the downloaded installer, it gave me this error message:

i42.tinypic.com/2e2mtk7.jpg (you'll have to copy that link manually, because there is some weird forum rule here, which only allows posting links and images if you have more than 15 posts)

Or in text:
Quote:Error opening file for writing:

C:\Program Files\WhatPulse\WhatPulse.exe

Click Abort to stop the installation,
Retry to try again, or
Ignore to skip this file.

Abort | Retry | Ignore

Now I know a little bit about installing software, so it was quite obvious that i had to exit the running WhatPulse process, and retry on the error, and indeed it worked. However, people who know less about computers might not understand this message and get lost. It would be much more clear to display a message which says something like "WhatPulse is currently running, please exit it to continue the installation." Ok | Cancel installation. It would be even better to automatically close WhatPulse when the user clicks Ok and say something like "WhatPulse is currently running, if you click ok, WhatPulse will be closed by the installer." (i've seen that in some other installers too).

Also, it might be useful to check the version before starting the installation, because the 1.6.2 installer gave me the same message when i ran it while 1.6.2 was already installed, while it would be better to display something like "WhatPulse 1.6.2 has already been installed, would you like to continue anyway?" Yes | Cancel installation. (This way people who have damaged the current installation can still overwrite it.)

Would it be possible to implement these 2 features?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2009, 04:45 PM
Post: #2
Installer message if Whatpulse is still running
The forum rule isnt 'weird'. It stops spammers being able to post links to viagra and other crap.

Here's the image for everyone to make it easier to view than copying and pasting:

[Image: 2e2mtk7.jpg]

This is a good idea, but lets face it, most people would be aware that the software is infact still running. But switching to the "Abort, Retry" etc menu would allow it to say "WhatPulse.exe is still running" etc.

http://www.suckmytrend.com

[Image: Slow2die.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Running the client headless hjord 0 218 08-18-2019 09:45 AM
Last Post: hjord
  Whatpulse for Android Megachip 3 2,018 01-11-2016 10:26 AM
Last Post: Megachip
  Premium upgrade message on Network -> Applications Wopian 1 1,467 02-27-2015 07:44 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Whatpulse Should be Available on Tablets, iPods and Phones Tealdragon204 7 5,638 07-26-2014 12:48 PM
Last Post: linkops
  WhatPulse With Alternative Input Devices? Inquizitor 6 10,541 06-27-2014 04:05 PM
Last Post: SearchBuzz
  WhatPulse getting too detailed cronic5 7 7,447 02-28-2014 05:09 AM
Last Post: abpop
  Make WhatPulse synchronize between computers AmokOwe 7 9,978 02-24-2014 09:19 PM
Last Post: Megachip
  How whatpulse works? gzc9047 1 3,454 06-08-2013 03:38 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Can WhatPulse client record the log of every click of mouse & keyboard? gzc9047 1 5,781 06-08-2013 03:33 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  New Whatpulse Client Idea stuthemonkey 3 6,563 03-06-2013 06:13 AM
Last Post: Xander641

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)