WhatPulse Forums » Support » Website v » Still having problems... Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Still having problems...
01-18-2007, 02:19 AM
Post: #11
Still having problems...
I wonder if clearing the cache & whatpulse cookies would do anything. See, this is something I've never encountered, so it's hard for me to diagnose. That, and I don't have access to the server's inner workings Tongue

[Image: XKalSig1.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2007, 03:07 AM
Post: #12
Still having problems...
BookMasterJMV Wrote:I've found out that my IP is static. Anything I can do to fix this?

Fixing having a static IP is not possible. Most likely only by changing your ISP.



- What Operating System are you using?

- What Browser?

- How are you connected to the internet?
directly per MoDem or Broadband from your machine (direct connection)
Hardware-Router
Software-Router (like Kerio or Fli4ll)
Company Network
is a proxy-server involved?

- Do you use a FireWall-Software like Norton Internet Security?

- Do you use a Software like Norton AntiVirus?



The last two (Norton) are known to aggressively modify the sourcecode of webpaces and thereby destroying some of the functionality (especially when it comes to JavaScript, Cookies and Forms). Some other Programs do this too but I forgot their names. I encounter that problem several times a year when webpages "don't work" correctly at my client's PCs even if I've tested them on any Browser and OS - combination possible.

Some software and hardware routers are using a feature called "transparent proxy". This means acting like a normal NAT-Router (direct access to the internet for many computers behind a single dialup-line) to all the computers but silently caching the content of the pages the users surf on. This could also produce the problem you are encountering since unique IDs get used multiple times this way.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2007, 03:50 AM
Post: #13
Still having problems...
It's actually on two different computers. Any of the ones at work and my own computer at home.

Windows XP for both of them.

IE for work, Firefox/IE/Avant for home.

Company network for work, cable modem for home.

Yes, both have Norton.

It works sometimes, and other times it seems to barely let me in.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2007, 09:15 AM
Post: #14
Still having problems...
BookMasterJMV Wrote:Yes, both have Norton.

It works sometimes, and other times it seems to barely let me in.


can you try disabling norton for certain websites?
I don't have norton and won't install it ('cause I hate that cr*p), so I can't tell you if that's possible or not.
But every time one of my customers had such a problem, it could be solved by simply switching norton off. So maybe you could try to disable Norton temporarily to see if it happens then. But maybe it can't be disabled completely. Might be a bit sticky...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2007, 11:05 AM
Post: #15
Still having problems...
Hmm, I'm no expert at this, but wouldn't using a proxy server solve your problem?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2007, 06:09 PM
Post: #16
Still having problems...
Magewout Wrote:Hmm, I'm no expert at this, but wouldn't using a proxy server solve your problem?

I'm 90% sure that the problem is some sort of caching, modification and/or cookie issue.
These are problems which come with proxies, so a proxy would rather cause the problem than solve it.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2007, 12:15 PM
Post: #17
Still having problems...
let it discharge Smile

Hate, hate your enemies. Save, save your friends. Find, find your place. Speak, speak the truth. - Nirvana
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-19-2007, 04:40 PM
Post: #18
Still having problems...
Still lost. XD

This has been going on, obviously for a good four months if not longer.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2007, 04:35 AM
Post: #19
Still having problems...
I'm going to bump this thread. I haven't personally found anything on it yet, though... but wasted, did you set the server to clear expired sessions yet? I'd like to rule that out as a factor if that's possible.

[Image: XKalSig1.png]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-12-2007, 12:20 PM
Post: #20
Still having problems...
Aha! I have found the reason!

Google Web Accelerator was blocking it, for some unknown reason or such. So now I don't get the message!

w00t!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Password problems on site JaRi1337 1 1,147 02-02-2015 05:53 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
Exclamation Some problems with Web API Runis 1 3,185 12-30-2012 12:18 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Problems with Login MrPedantic 1 3,211 09-20-2010 10:07 AM
Last Post: Mr. Pedantic

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)