WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » [Debian] Pulses lost when using reboot command Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Debian] Pulses lost when using reboot command
01-29-2015, 08:31 AM (This post was last modified: 01-29-2015 08:32 AM by [GoT]Jewest.)
Post: #1
[Debian] Pulses lost when using reboot command
Hi,

I was about to pulse a small (10K key) pulse from my machine till I found out that it was lost.
So I tried to figure out what is going wrong.

Perform the following sequence:
1]. Boot Dedian x64 with whats app client version 2.5
2]. Type about 90 chars. (or any other number)
3] open a terminal.
4]. sudo reboot
5]. reboot the machine
6] check the unpulsed state for the client, this is zero instead of 90.
But the Hotkey map is reporting that there are 90 keys today.
Please solve this issue or explain why this is not working as expected..

Thank you in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-30-2015, 08:43 PM
Post: #2
RE: [Debian] Pulses lost when using reboot command
It's kinda working as expected.."sudo reboot" doesn't give apps to shutdown properly, the system just goes. The client doesn't have the chance to save, that's why. If you reboot through the window manager shutdown, it'll give apps the chance to shutdown properly (that depends on the window manager again though..).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-02-2015, 12:17 PM (This post was last modified: 02-02-2015 12:19 PM by [GoT]Jewest.)
Post: #3
RE: [Debian] Pulses lost when using reboot command
I agree and disagree.
My assumption was/is that the whatspulse application would store every <fill in a time frame>.
So that there would be a loss but less then all.
Maybe a configurable option for the next generation?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-02-2015, 01:13 PM
Post: #4
RE: [Debian] Pulses lost when using reboot command
It does, every 15 minutes. If it does it more then 15 minutes, it'll take disk performance away from your regular applications. The time it'll take you to type 90 characters is probably less than 15 minutes. :-)

It's not going to be a configurable option, mostly because it can cause issues with a users system.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [CLOSED] Debian Stretch: OpenSSL library not found wullxz 1 846 02-27-2017 05:31 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Favorite reboot days dots are too small d3ullist 3 900 11-05-2016 10:36 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Favorite reboot days is massive d3ullist 1 795 03-22-2016 06:25 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [SOLVED] Duplicate Pulses (Client Version 2.5) abpop 2 1,902 01-03-2015 07:59 AM
Last Post: abpop
  Heat map is not showing Enter button in Debian Testing(Jessie) and version 2.3 [GoT]Jewest 1 3,173 02-20-2014 10:18 PM
Last Post: cartman2000
  Lost 12k clicks when exiting and reloading buggy client trbot 2 3,600 02-01-2014 11:15 PM
Last Post: trbot
  WhatPulse lost past keyboard pushes/clicks also unpulsed issue JantsoP 1 5,298 10-19-2013 10:47 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
Sad I just updated and lost all of my clicks Ryan_Hogan 3 3,696 09-22-2013 08:48 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Pulses go to nowhere theHacker 2 4,413 09-16-2013 06:54 PM
Last Post: theHacker
  Is it possible to configure WhatPulse by command lines only? Franck.Dernoncourt 6 8,974 09-09-2013 06:54 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)