WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » [SOLVED] Linux installation Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[SOLVED] Linux installation
12-11-2014, 09:16 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2014 06:07 PM by smitmartijn.)
Post: #1
[SOLVED] Linux installation
Hi,

I wish to have WhatPulse on one of my boxes, but I'm kind of fuzzy on how to do that. I installed the required packages but I wish to put whatpulse itself on the machine. It should load on startup of the machine.

The box is currently running 14.04.01 LTS GNU/Linux 3.13.0-24-generic i686

So, I checked all the required stuff and wish to run it to see if it actually works. I've put it in my home directory. When I run it I get the following message.

poser@desktop:~/Downloads$ ./whatpulse
whatpulse: cannot connect to X server

It doesn't matter if I run it as root or as a normal user.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-11-2014, 09:21 PM
Post: #2
RE: Linux installation
Are you running a window manager? This is required.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-11-2014, 09:23 PM (This post was last modified: 12-11-2014 09:23 PM by Posergoth6667.)
Post: #3
RE: Linux installation
No I'm not running a window manager. Isn't there a way to bypass it? I don't really need it on that box. It's a very slow Atom box and X takes up resources.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-11-2014, 09:24 PM
Post: #4
RE: Linux installation
No, there is not. WhatPulse is a desktop application, desktops have graphical interfaces. :-)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-11-2014, 09:30 PM
Post: #5
RE: Linux installation
it's graphical, it has text and colors Tongue

But ok, I get the point. Still need to get it working somehow. Need to get my bandwidth stats up
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-11-2014, 09:34 PM
Post: #6
RE: Linux installation
Unfortunately I wasn't kidding with the 'No, there is not' - there's no way to get it running within having a Xserver running. The client uses it to get critical information to allow itself to collect statistics.

Also, if you want to run the client on it to get your bandwidth stats up, it's most likely a server; servers are not supported/allowed.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-11-2014, 09:41 PM (This post was last modified: 12-11-2014 09:42 PM by Posergoth6667.)
Post: #7
RE: Linux installation
it's a small desktop I have sitting on my desk that I use mostly for chatting on IRC and some downloads in the background. And an Atom processor in a server wouldn't be that helpful. I just changed the grub back to quiet splash, did a reboot and it started X. It's already working but the pc is very slow. Need to get a new one some time soon. First generation Atom from 2008. 80 watt PSU is overkill for it Smile. It's just that every byte counts if you wish to get higher up the ranks Tongue
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Support for Linux dropped ? Adrriii 22 2,458 10-04-2020 09:46 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Non-Admin Installation ItsRiftzy 1 292 07-25-2020 02:22 AM
Last Post: Inquizitor
Question [SOLVED] Manual Pulse-button does not work PeaceFreak 5 1,081 03-13-2020 04:14 PM
Last Post: PeaceFreak
  Cannot start Whatpulse successfully on Manjaro 18.1.4 (Arch Linux) anijatsu 2 1,235 01-12-2020 04:06 PM
Last Post: Adrriii
  Having trouble running whatpulse on Neon Linux BlackWidow 1 909 12-03-2019 12:02 AM
Last Post: Adrriii
  [SOLVED] Can't run the Linux version [Driver not loaded Driver not loaded] radioz 2 2,242 06-20-2019 11:54 AM
Last Post: radioz
  WhatPulse not opening on Manjaro Linux (Arch distro) tboxley 4 2,138 05-26-2019 11:30 AM
Last Post: FamilienVater
  [SOLVED] Error uploading keyboard/mouse heatmap Wopian 2 1,831 03-17-2017 12:26 PM
Last Post: Wopian
  [SOLVED] [postmortem] Pulse error: "The specified configuration cannot be used." dgw 4 3,158 03-03-2017 09:54 PM
Last Post: dgw
  [SOLVED] Client crashes on startup v. 2.7 Win10x64 Lttngblt 11 5,202 10-08-2016 06:43 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)