WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Mouse mileage is weird. Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Mouse mileage is weird.
03-15-2009, 02:14 AM
Post: #11
Mouse mileage is weird.
1920x1200

"You don't know when you might need a tank" - Jericho
Homepage: http://Quarzi.mine.nu/eng for the non swedes x)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2009, 10:26 AM
Post: #12
Mouse mileage is weird.
I'm running 1680x1050.

With the geek window open I can also see the mouse mileage increasing way too fast as I move the mouse around.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2009, 11:55 AM
Post: #13
Mouse mileage is weird.
Some more info: the mouse mileage was increasing too fast when observed over a Remote Desktop Connection to the machine in question (at 1024x768 ). I just logged on to the machine locally (so, back to 1680x1050) and it is now increasing much slower (maybe even too slow). I've been moving the mouse like hell, watching the geek window and it's only gone up by a hundredth of a mile.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2009, 11:10 PM
Post: #14
Mouse mileage is weird.
Quarzi Wrote:My mouse have a DPI from 1-3200 and I run it on 3200.

Interesting. What effect does changing that setting actually have?

I wonder if it's something to do with that setting, because by comparison, display is normally set to 96 DPI.

[Image: 152857.jpg]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-15-2009, 11:42 PM
Post: #15
Mouse mileage is weird.
If I'm not wrong the regular mouse DPI is 400 to 800.

DPI is dots per inch (just for thos who moght not know), it also relates directly to the mouse reading, along with the movement on screen. So that said, if you use a 1024x786 screen rez, and you having a 1000DPI mouse, it would 'technically' take 1 inch to move from one side to the other.

But it also relates to how many 'screen shots' the mouse takes per second. So higher dpi = more screen shots per 'movement cycle' which translates into a smoother movement of your mouse, and yields a higher speed.
For me who works a lot in photoshop editing pictures and what not, a higher DPI lets me edit them with much more precision than with a 400 DPI mouse. (although I use my wacom tablet more now)

You can also reduce your movement speed (most commonly done in the game you are playing) to adjust the higher speed.

So if you go from a 400 dpi mouse with 4 sensitivity, a 1600 DPI mouse and a 1 sensitivity would give you the same speed, but higher precision.

"You don't know when you might need a tank" - Jericho
Homepage: http://Quarzi.mine.nu/eng for the non swedes x)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Exporting Mouse Data MrSquid360 0 236 06-01-2019 03:04 AM
Last Post: Nathan.Li
  [SOLVED] Error uploading keyboard/mouse heatmap Wopian 2 824 03-17-2017 12:26 PM
Last Post: Wopian
Information [CLOSED] Mouse distance counter in Windows client. TigraPolosatiy 1 747 02-27-2017 05:30 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Weird key combination CarpalTunnel 1 612 02-18-2017 12:37 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
Sad [Ubuntu 14.04.3] Mouse clicks not logged Carlgo11 0 945 12-16-2015 09:45 AM
Last Post: Carlgo11
  Multi-monitor mouse heatmap Kattus 0 1,218 09-03-2015 12:08 PM
Last Post: Kattus
  [Win7x64 Pulse 2.5] Mouse heatmap not enlarge dogwong 1 1,664 12-10-2014 01:29 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  How do I interpret the data from the mouse heatmap? mk4 2 2,609 04-20-2014 11:26 AM
Last Post: mk4
  [SOLVED] weird crashing from whatpulse Waize94 2 3,230 03-02-2014 09:08 PM
Last Post: Eragon666
  Mouse without Borders TheSappy 2 3,662 02-07-2014 02:48 PM
Last Post: Century0

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)