WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » WhatPulse on my server Welcome back, Guest.


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
WhatPulse on my server
12-31-2013, 04:37 PM
Post: #1
WhatPulse on my server
Hey, I run my own site off my server which I completely manage. It runs CentOS, and I was wondering if WhatPulse could be installed within it? I ask as I do not have a way of accessing a GUI, and everything is done within the command line (putty). Could I install and run it in that environment?

Also, what stats would I be able to track with it? I am guessing that it would be capable of tracking uptime, and I would like if I could sync up upload/download with it as well, although I am not sure this is possible within CentOS. WinPCap seems to have a generic linux version that might work?

Let me know as I would love to give this a try. If I manage to get it all going, I'd be happy to pop a guide on how to do it within the KB so that other people can have a go should they wish to get whatpulse on their server that is running CentOS.

Thanks
Ash
Find all posts by this user
12-31-2013, 04:45 PM
Post: #2
RE: WhatPulse on my server
IIRC, there isn't a straightforward way to install/use WhatPulse without a GUI, but you can easily install GNOME or some other window manager, then work from there.

http://www.idevelopment.info/data/Unix/L...tall.shtml
Find all posts by this user
12-31-2013, 04:58 PM
Post: #3
RE: WhatPulse on my server
Thanks mate, I will look into that and see if I can get it all working. Do you know what kinds of stats it would be capable of tracking?
Find all posts by this user
12-31-2013, 06:19 PM
Post: #4
RE: WhatPulse on my server
I don't know the specific limitations of the Linux client with CentOS, but I've seen servers tracking all stats (Input, bandwidth, and uptime). But, as with any Linux configuration, your mileage may vary.
Find all posts by this user
12-31-2013, 06:57 PM
Post: #5
RE: WhatPulse on my server
Yeh, I wouldn't want it tracking input such as keys/clicks unless it was definately my own input, not the users of the server, ie visitors of the site etc. I guess if its through Gnome, it would only be the input on Gnome. Smile
Find all posts by this user
01-01-2014, 10:17 AM
Post: #6
RE: WhatPulse on my server
I could be wrong but I don't think we actually condone installing WhatPulse on servers.

That said, without something like GNOME or any other desktop environment you wouldn't really be able to keep up with much information. Specially not keyboard input.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
01-02-2014, 09:58 AM
Post: #7
RE: WhatPulse on my server
I'm not after keyboard input in all honesty, I am more after the uptime/upload/download so that I can track and compare how my server is doing/handling visitors/uptime versus actual server uptime etc. Most of the top people on the uptime stats have many years of uptime, which is only possible from 24/7 servers/computers, and many of them being used per profile, so I assumed that servers were allowed for this reason. The only time I would condone it tracking keys/clicks would be if I was performing my own commands on the server as part of my maintanence etc, but this would only be minimal.
Find all posts by this user
01-04-2014, 11:48 AM
Post: #8
RE: WhatPulse on my server
Have a look @ munin !
That's a better option for what you want to see. Besides that when you install Whatpulse on your server not all traffic is generated by you so it's cheating....
Find all posts by this user
01-06-2014, 09:42 AM
Post: #9
RE: WhatPulse on my server
I don't agree, because if I had a massive upload speed and torrented/seeded, I would be uploading endless data to users who are downloading my data. The same occurs with the server, and as it is my server which I am completely in control of, I feel I am generating that traffic in exactly the same way, and it is therefore not cheating.
Find all posts by this user
01-06-2014, 06:11 PM
Post: #10
RE: WhatPulse on my server
Nope, you're not generating that traffic, those users are.

Servers are not condoned, as whatpulse is a desktop application as it stands. I also tend to delete/contact the owners when I see them.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Whatpulse 3.2 on Ubuntu 21.04 Lieutenant_Dan 2 256 04-26-2021 05:23 PM
Last Post: Lieutenant_Dan
  whatpulse is writing to database every second minho 0 158 04-19-2021 06:52 AM
Last Post: minho
Question Autostart WhatPulse 3.1 without Confirmation (Win10) blankster 0 223 04-04-2021 04:53 PM
Last Post: blankster
Question Can't install WhatPulse 3.1 correctly (Win10) blankster 0 226 04-04-2021 04:49 PM
Last Post: blankster
  When you switch networks WhatPulse stops tracking bandwidth TheEliteFriendsYT 2 570 04-01-2021 10:05 AM
Last Post: TheEliteFriendsYT
  Problem on starting whatpulse Steven793 1 506 03-29-2021 08:17 AM
Last Post: Resowy
Bug WhatPulse 3.0 stops responding when running on start up Mevious 6 1,388 01-17-2021 09:18 PM
Last Post: Mevious
  Whatpulse Client and Windows 10 (20H2) d3FC0N 3 1,215 12-29-2020 12:54 PM
Last Post: d3FC0N
  Cannot start WhatPulse using Ubuntu 19.10 Adrriii 8 4,679 11-05-2020 02:23 PM
Last Post: Juje
  Cannot start Whatpulse successfully on Manjaro 18.1.4 (Arch Linux) anijatsu 3 2,808 10-25-2020 01:36 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)