WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Network graph oddities Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Network graph oddities
11-30-2013, 05:31 AM (This post was last modified: 11-30-2013 06:58 AM by dgw.)
Post: #1
Network graph oddities
I'm kind of confused about my network activity graph in 2.3. When I've closed the client window, it seems to update in bursts, causing spikes with long flat zero-activity stretches between them to show on the graph next time I open it.

Here's an example, in which I had the window open for a while, then closed it for a couple minutes, then opened it again: https://www.dropbox.com/s/xtc6udjmxvdpjd....21.25.png

Is this a known issue, or something others have experienced? I'm seeing it on both Mac and Windows.

System 1: MacBook Pro (early 2011), OS X 10.7.5, WhatPulse 2.3 stable.
System 2: Sager NP2098 (mid-2009), Windows 7 Ultimate x64, WhatPulse 2.3 stable.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-30-2013, 12:36 PM
Post: #2
RE: Network graph oddities
It seems bursty indeed, maybe I need to adjust the graph accordingly. I'll see if I can smooth it out. Thanks!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-30-2013, 03:38 PM
Post: #3
RE: Network graph oddities
It's not a graph problem, it's working just fine. It's the network counter that randomly stops working and starts working again when you open the Whatpulse window again. It's happening to me since 2.3b3.

I'm having the same issue.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-30-2013, 03:46 PM
Post: #4
RE: Network graph oddities
Random is something you usually can't reproduce, or something that doesn't happen on a regular basis. This is certainly not random, as the graph simply flattens for a 30 second interval when you close the window and that is shown when you open the graph.

It has nothing to do with the network counter, just the presentation of the stats.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-30-2013, 04:09 PM (This post was last modified: 11-30-2013 04:16 PM by tim95.)
Post: #5
RE: Network graph oddities
Than I have two separate problems. I'm having the same one as the TS although it doesn't always happen when the windows is closed sometimes it keeps working fine, sometimes it happens 5 minutes after the window is closed.

The spike is also visible in the network interfaces list for me.

Edit: My ISP only offers 7,4 MB per second, it was over 100 MB per second a fraction before this screenshot.
[Image: Schermafbeelding%202013-11-30%20om%2017.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-30-2013, 04:21 PM
Post: #6
RE: Network graph oddities
The network stack doesn't just stop and start again, unless you can changing your network interfaces. Plus any starts and stops will be documented inside your app.log, so if it is indeed flakey, it will tell you in there.

But, I have the feeling you're mistaking a presentation issue with a counting issue, as it can look like a counting issue if something only updates every 5 or 30 seconds. The data is there, it's just not shown in a every-second kind of way.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-30-2013, 11:11 PM
Post: #7
RE: Network graph oddities
(11-30-2013 04:21 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  The network stack doesn't just stop and start again, unless you can changing your network interfaces. Plus any starts and stops will be documented inside your app.log, so if it is indeed flakey, it will tell you in there.

But, I have the feeling you're mistaking a presentation issue with a counting issue, as it can look like a counting issue if something only updates every 5 or 30 seconds. The data is there, it's just not shown in a every-second kind of way.

I've made a separate topic, for my issue. It probably just looks allot like this one. http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=3977
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-01-2013, 10:21 AM (This post was last modified: 12-01-2013 10:21 AM by tim95.)
Post: #8
RE: Network graph oddities
@smitmartijn You've closed my topic and said it was the same issue as this one, well it's not. The network counter works just fine because the graph matches however the unpulsed count does not match the network counter nor the graph. Could you please read my whole post this time.

Old post:

I'm having a problem with the network counter. Sometimes when I close the app the counter only adds up the downloaded MB's every 30 seconds, when it does that it adds wrong values.

In the graph in the first screenshot you can see that it counts every 30 seconds. If I count up these values in the graph they match what I downloaded (+/- 950 MB NZB + Radio). However in the second screenshot you can see what it counted as unpulsed.

[Image: Schermafbeelding%202013-11-30%20om%2023.55.37.png]

[Image: Schermafbeelding%202013-11-30%20om%2023.58.54.png]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-01-2013, 10:29 AM (This post was last modified: 12-01-2013 11:57 AM by smitmartijn.)
Post: #9
RE: Network graph oddities
It is the same issue, don't know how many times I have to say it. ;-)

The description of the first post in this thread may not seem similar, but it has the same root cause.

I'll have 2.3.1 out somewhere next week which will fix it!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-02-2013, 09:31 AM
Post: #10
RE: Network graph oddities
I'm using WP 2.3b1 now and this problem doesn't exist.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Incorrect Network Upload/Download cahern7 11 3,543 11-21-2016 07:13 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS GnaXi 4 1,734 09-15-2016 03:33 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] Mac client, network traffic reading but not pulsing dacheat 1 997 05-23-2016 02:11 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [FIXED] Cannot open the "I" button in input/network/uptime screen YoshiIsAwsum 2 1,178 05-03-2016 08:02 PM
Last Post: YoshiIsAwsum
  Unencrypted network connections Megachip 1 837 04-25-2016 10:25 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  inputh history graph dont match (24 h and 12 h) guga.melro 0 734 10-15-2015 02:10 PM
Last Post: guga.melro
  Network activity being measured but not pulsed? SwooshyCueb 0 1,019 09-13-2015 04:03 AM
Last Post: SwooshyCueb
  [SOLVED] Network Upload doesnt count Tony.LR 6 3,017 08-01-2015 05:38 PM
Last Post: Tony.LR
  [SOLVED] Network traffic doesn't show up in unpulsed soldierrro 2 1,605 07-24-2015 06:29 PM
Last Post: soldierrro
Information Proxy Problems with Win8 x64 and company network W3a$el 0 987 07-22-2015 12:19 PM
Last Post: W3a$el

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)