WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » [Solved]Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[Solved]Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
11-22-2013, 06:08 AM (This post was last modified: 12-01-2013 08:55 PM by joerlegacy.)
Post: #1
[Solved]Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
Can't launch the client. Any help appreciated. I made an exception for it in my antivirus so that's not the issue.

Version 2.2.1
64 bit windows 8.1 pro
I'm logged into an administrator account.
No error message.
I'm running Symantec Endpoint Protection, but made an exception for whatpulse.
It is shown in task manager but not in the notification area and I can't bring up the window.

edit: added information
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-22-2013, 06:10 PM
Post: #2
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
Can you please take a look at http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=810 and supply the requested information?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-22-2013, 06:16 PM
Post: #3
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
(11-22-2013 06:10 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  Can you please take a look at http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=810 and supply the requested information?

added info
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 08:20 PM
Post: #4
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
bump
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 08:30 PM
Post: #5
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
Have you tried reinstalling? Maybe something in the dlls fell over during the install/virusscan. Also the app.log (http://whatpulse.org/kb/content/2/6/en/data-files.html) might give you a clue about what it's doing.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 08:35 PM
Post: #6
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
That link is broken for me. I have tried reinstalling multiple times. I'm willing to go and do manual stuff if it comes to that. I just want this software working.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 08:48 PM
Post: #7
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
Just remove the last ) from the url and you'll get there...Do you actually uninstall the client, or just install over it? (do the first)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-25-2013, 07:49 PM
Post: #8
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
I had this exact same problem for weeks, I matched up my last pulse date to the apps installed around that time. (Use the Date Range tool on the "Installed On" column in Programs ad Features in control panel)

WinPCap happened to be one of those apps. I unistalled it, restarted the laptop and whatpulse now works fine again.

Note. The network logging STILL works though

Strange one.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-01-2013, 08:46 PM (This post was last modified: 12-01-2013 08:54 PM by joerlegacy.)
Post: #9
RE: Whatpulse not showing in notification area, but is showing in task manager
Ended up just uninstalling winpcap. I also reinstalled whatpulse so that it was completely up to date. You guys released an update while I was dealing with this issue. Goddamn I love the smell of fresh up-to-date software.

Here is the log file. Incase you guys want to look into what happened further.

01-12-2013 15:32:30.143 INFO "Starting WhatPulse 2.3..."
01-12-2013 15:32:30.159 DEBUG Installed CrashRpt!
01-12-2013 15:32:30.409 DEBUG Database file: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.db"
01-12-2013 15:32:30.409 DEBUG Database check: "ok"
01-12-2013 15:32:30.409 DEBUG Opened database in: 0 ms
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 DEBUG First time database use detected, setting version to: 4
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 DEBUG Running WhatPulse as Administrator! :-)
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 DEBUG Encrypted file: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw"
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 DEBUG Unable to open savefile
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 WARN Failed to load ' "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw" ' - trying backup file
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 DEBUG Unable to open savefile
01-12-2013 15:32:30.425 DEBUG Loaded application aliases
01-12-2013 15:32:30.440 DEBUG No pcap network devices found! Did you run the ChmodBPF script?
01-12-2013 15:32:30.440 DEBUG Detected that WinPcap is not available and falling back to Windows APIs! No unpulsed online data this way! Sad
01-12-2013 15:32:30.815 DEBUG Started download of GeoIP Database..
01-12-2013 15:32:30.815 DEBUG WhatPulse 2.3 has started
01-12-2013 15:32:32.815 DEBUG Starting timers and collector..
01-12-2013 15:32:32.815 DEBUG enableInputHook: true
01-12-2013 15:32:32.815 DEBUG LowLevelHookHandler starting
01-12-2013 15:32:32.815 DEBUG Enabling lowlevel input hooks
01-12-2013 15:33:46.161 INFO "Starting WhatPulse 2.3..."
01-12-2013 15:33:46.233 DEBUG Installed CrashRpt!
01-12-2013 15:33:46.527 DEBUG Database file: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.db"
01-12-2013 15:33:46.530 DEBUG Database check: "ok"
01-12-2013 15:33:46.530 DEBUG Opened database in: 4 ms
01-12-2013 15:33:46.534 DEBUG Not running WhatPulse as Administrator! :-(
01-12-2013 15:33:46.535 DEBUG Encrypted file: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw"
01-12-2013 15:33:46.535 DEBUG Unable to open savefile
01-12-2013 15:33:46.535 WARN Failed to load ' "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw" ' - trying backup file
01-12-2013 15:33:46.535 DEBUG Unable to open savefile
01-12-2013 15:33:46.537 DEBUG Loaded application aliases
01-12-2013 15:34:33.275 INFO "Starting WhatPulse 2.3..."
01-12-2013 15:34:33.297 DEBUG Installed CrashRpt!
01-12-2013 15:34:33.304 DEBUG QtSingleApplication::isRunning() - appIsRunning() is true!
01-12-2013 15:34:33.304 DEBUG WhatPulse is already running! Sending message to running client to bring up MainWindow and exiting this instance.
01-12-2013 15:41:53.482 INFO "Starting WhatPulse 2.3..."
01-12-2013 15:41:53.509 DEBUG Installed CrashRpt!
01-12-2013 15:41:53.776 DEBUG Database file: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.db"
01-12-2013 15:41:53.778 DEBUG Database check: "ok"
01-12-2013 15:41:53.779 DEBUG Opened database in: 4 ms
01-12-2013 15:41:53.783 DEBUG Not running WhatPulse as Administrator! :-(
01-12-2013 15:41:53.783 DEBUG Encrypted file: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw"
01-12-2013 15:41:53.783 DEBUG Unable to open savefile
01-12-2013 15:41:53.784 WARN Failed to load ' "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw" ' - trying backup file
01-12-2013 15:41:53.784 DEBUG Unable to open savefile
01-12-2013 15:41:53.788 DEBUG Loaded application aliases
01-12-2013 15:41:53.796 WARN libcap not available:
01-12-2013 15:41:53.796 DEBUG Detected that WinPcap is not available and falling back to Windows APIs! No unpulsed online data this way! Sad
01-12-2013 15:41:54.581 DEBUG Started download of GeoIP Database..
01-12-2013 15:41:54.585 DEBUG WhatPulse 2.3 has started
01-12-2013 15:41:55.154 DEBUG Writing downloaded GeoIP Database into: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/GeoIP.dat"
01-12-2013 15:41:55.154 DEBUG Opening GeoIP database: "C:/Users/Joseph/AppData/Local/WhatPulse/GeoIP.dat"
01-12-2013 15:41:55.154 DEBUG Finished downloading GeoIP database!
01-12-2013 15:41:56.568 DEBUG Starting timers and collector..
01-12-2013 15:41:56.568 DEBUG enableInputHook: true
01-12-2013 15:41:56.569 DEBUG LowLevelHookHandler starting
01-12-2013 15:41:56.569 DEBUG Enabling lowlevel input hooks
01-12-2013 15:42:26.590 DEBUG Version ' "2.3" ' is ignored, too old or something like that.
01-12-2013 15:46:57.110 DEBUG Applications successfully uploaded: "Processed 1 application(s)"
01-12-2013 15:51:57.187 DEBUG Applications successfully uploaded: "Processed 2 application(s)"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Updating from jessie to buster breaks whatpulse [GoT]Jewest 1 88 09-30-2019 06:39 AM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  Server error: Missing input! with whatpulse 2.8.4 on Win10 Franck.Dernoncourt 3 437 09-24-2019 10:56 PM
Last Post: kolah
  Whatpulse crash [GoT]Jewest 2 88 09-20-2019 09:22 AM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  Whatpulse isn't running after upgrading Ubuntu 1geeky 0 143 08-06-2019 05:46 AM
Last Post: 1geeky
  WhatPulse 64bit install on Lubuntu 19.04 SiKTheGreatOne 0 271 06-30-2019 02:49 AM
Last Post: SiKTheGreatOne
  [SOLVED] Can't run the Linux version [Driver not loaded Driver not loaded] radioz 2 857 06-20-2019 11:54 AM
Last Post: radioz
  WhatPulse not opening on Manjaro Linux (Arch distro) tboxley 4 657 05-26-2019 11:30 AM
Last Post: FamilienVater
  Whatpulse won't start, Unable to install crashRpt! Bai.Bing 0 258 05-24-2019 01:02 PM
Last Post: Bai.Bing
  Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic Lodisen 8 891 05-22-2019 05:35 PM
Last Post: Trapton
Exclamation giving pcap permissions breaks whatpulse ajencks1 0 358 04-18-2019 01:08 AM
Last Post: ajencks1

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)