WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Application Scrobbling not working propper Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Application Scrobbling not working propper
09-27-2013, 11:30 PM (This post was last modified: 10-26-2013 03:49 PM by Megachip.)
Post: #1
Application Scrobbling not working propper
I'm using the same apps on different Computers (e.g. Windows Explorer, Browser, Thunderbird, Miranda...)

They are pulsed from different Computers, but stats only shown one computer Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-02-2013, 10:31 PM
Post: #2
RE: Apps on different computers
Anyone? Did i miss an Option?

The apps are pulsed but the Computers did not shown in app stats and the Counter within myapps is always 1 Sad
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 01:23 AM
Post: #3
RE: Apps on different computers
Would you happen to be running Windows 8? My apps haven't been uploaded when pulsing from either of my Windows 8 machines. Windows 7 pulses just fine.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 05:01 PM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2013 05:03 PM by smitmartijn.)
Post: #4
RE: Apps on different computers
I'm sorry, the English got a little foggy so I didn't get what you were saying at first, but you're talking about the website.

For some reason your applications are -all- linked to the computer MegMac. There is one reason for that to happen: on computer DC89, did you login with computer MegMac first and then switched? Or carried the whatpulse.db file around any?

In any case: try the 'Re-upload applications' button in the advanced settings of DC89.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2013, 07:11 PM (This post was last modified: 10-07-2013 02:24 PM by Megachip.)
Post: #5
RE: Apps on different computers
(10-03-2013 05:01 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  For some reason your applications are -all- linked to the computer MegMac. There is one reason for that to happen: on computer DC89, did you login with computer MegMac first and then switched? Or carried the whatpulse.db file around any?
This could be possible. First i used WP portable on all Computers and after a while i switched back to normal usage.

(10-03-2013 05:01 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  In any case: try the 'Re-upload applications' button in the advanced settings of DC89.
I'll try this...

(10-03-2013 01:23 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  Would you happen to be running Windows 8? My apps haven't been uploaded when pulsing from either of my Windows 8 machines. Windows 7 pulses just fine.
Nope, sorry. Win8 is the only one, which works almost fine. (some apps missing, see http://whatpulse.org/forums/showthread.p...pid246749)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2013, 11:58 AM
Post: #6
RE: Apps on different computers
I haven't seen any application uploads other than the ones from MegMac..you'll need to re-upload first before it'll show correctly.

If you share the database amongst computers, the application IDs get mixed up and you get this.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2013, 08:38 PM (This post was last modified: 10-07-2013 02:25 PM by Megachip.)
Post: #7
RE: Apps on different computers
Didn't know, if I wrote this already in personal message:

I've checked the reupload applications on P310. This is fresh blank installation of whatpulse. Still no applications shown in pulses nor a second pc is shown in applications Sad

Still not tested on DC89.

What about this Problem? can you confirm that? will there be an updated Routine on the next Version?

THX a lot
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2013, 06:19 PM (This post was last modified: 10-07-2013 06:20 PM by smitmartijn.)
Post: #8
RE: Apps on different computers
Sorry, but it can't be a clean installation as you say, simply because there are still application IDs in your local database that are linked to another computer..If you really started clean and logged in using the right computer, it will either send no applications (if it can't collect info) or link the applications to the computer you've logged in with..

For debug purposes, the website currently writes the full application upload away in a file, including the computer name..and this is what it says for your account:

[martijn@web5 237942]# grep -i 'computer:' * | grep -v MegMac
[martijn@web5 237942]#

This is a command for 'find a computer with application uploads that's not from MegMac' - and it did not find any uploads.

While there are plenty of app uploads from MegMac:

[martijn@web5 237942]# grep -i 'computer:' * | grep MegMac | wc -l
70

(This is since July).

About the other thread; I closed it because you said "all is fine" - about the apps, so I'm not sure what you want to confirm.

The only thing/routine adjusted in the upcoming version will be the detection of a computer mismatch on uploads applications, so that it'll clear it automatically, instead of doing it manually via the 're-upload apps'.

If you are absolutely sure you have done the 're-upload apps' on the right computer (so not MegMac), seen the upload notification bar, please send me your whatpulse.db file so I can have a look.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2013, 09:58 PM (This post was last modified: 10-09-2013 09:17 PM by Megachip.)
Post: #9
RE: Apps on different computers
(10-07-2013 06:19 PM)smitmartijn Wrote:  If you are absolutely sure you have done the 're-upload apps' on the right computer (so not MegMac), seen the upload notification bar, please send me your whatpulse.db file so I can have a look.
Where to send this?

To clarify my open questions/problems:

1. On MegMac (and possible on all other machines), apps which do not have a description compiled in, are not uploaded. The local detection on WP Client seems to work correctly, but they aren't submitted or displayed.
(See example screenshots)

2. Apps seems not submitted (neither on P310 nor on Meg-VM). They are not assigned to MegMac, they are missing completely. Tested "re-upload applications" on both machines.
-- How Long will it takes until apps are computed? ---

3. IE (keys, mouse clicks) on DC89 (WinXP, 32 bit) are not detected proper.

4. The problem with DC89 (apps are assigned to MegMac) i will check on Wednesday.

-- How Long will it takes until apps are computed? ---


Attached File(s)
.png  WP Example LEd.png (Size: 10.54 KB / Downloads: 180)
.png  WP Example PVB.png (Size: 15.81 KB / Downloads: 193)
.png  WP Working Example VB.png (Size: 19.19 KB / Downloads: 195)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2013, 11:51 PM (This post was last modified: 10-08-2013 12:22 AM by Megachip.)
Post: #10
RE: Apps on different computers
To Point 1 and screen shots. As you recommend, i've looked into the wp.db on MacMeg, 200 of 300 Apps did not have an online id, version and send_online is set to 0 (false?)

Also have take a look at pending_application_stats. The missing apps are listen there, so I think they where submitted (do not sniff my network traffic) but not parsed (cause of the missing id?)

So i take a look into the wp db of P310. The application table is completely empty! All others like pending_application_stats, application_active_hour, application_bandwidth are filled as usual.

Also it looks like in settings on P310, the following entries are missing (+2 others, it has 64 rows where settings on MegMac has 70 rows)
"online_email"
"online_userid"
"checksum"
"never_pulse"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Not tracking a certain application d1tzl 1 107 08-26-2019 04:35 PM
Last Post: DrEx
  Not uploading Application Data mewturn 0 589 07-25-2016 06:45 AM
Last Post: mewturn
  Application freezing, and using 25%cpu d3ullist 8 4,876 06-07-2016 10:05 AM
Last Post: d3ullist
  Application uploading not yet supported in Linux client? Wieschie 16 13,677 02-10-2016 06:17 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Ignored programs still show up in Application Heatmaps Drake356 1 1,319 06-20-2015 06:32 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [FIXED] Program not working suddenly London_Ash 3 1,623 05-30-2015 09:43 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] WhatPulse not working in some apps where used to work before XploD 12 5,491 05-28-2015 03:12 PM
Last Post: Replicated
Exclamation Heatmap not working in 2.6.1 DominatorX 10 3,282 05-20-2015 05:21 PM
Last Post: sarnex
  [CLOSED] Export Application Uptime from All Computers devmonster 5 2,171 05-08-2015 05:28 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Per-Application Pulsing Issue. micycle 14 5,298 04-12-2015 12:43 PM
Last Post: micycle

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)