WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Updating WP to 2.1 Welcome back, Guest.


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Updating WP to 2.1
04-26-2013, 09:12 PM (This post was last modified: 04-26-2013 09:21 PM by nathen78906.)
Post: #1
Updating WP to 2.1
When i updated WhatPulse to version 2.1 it gives me an error every time i try to start it.

Error when i launch from setup:
http://imgur.com/iDSxF2a

Error when i launch by clicking on whatpulse.exe
http://imgur.com/oOY3A0M
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 01:17 AM
Post: #2
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
Also getting errors.

Back to 2.0.1 again.

[Image: KzEXqDs.png]

Add a drop of lavender to milk, leave town with an orange and pretend you're laughing at it.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 02:26 AM
Post: #3
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
I'm also getting errors, it has killed the application completely and I can't start it up again.
[Image: DKGtwDo.jpg]

http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/151423/
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 04:36 AM (This post was last modified: 04-27-2013 04:45 AM by Commissar.)
Post: #4
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
trend micro flags all the WhatPulse dll's as a virus.

appears to think that \AppData\Local\Temp\is-3V08H.tmp\whatpulse-win-2.1.tmp is suspicious, and treats all the files created by it as malicious
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 05:14 AM
Post: #5
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
(04-27-2013 04:36 AM)Commissar Wrote:  appears to think that \AppData\Local\Temp\is-3V08H.tmp\whatpulse-win-2.1.tmp is suspicious, and treats all the files created by it as malicious

Not sure with what settings you're running TrendMicro with, but it did not detect it when we tested it..try excluding it. (by the way, the path above is just the installer)

The odd errors for the other people; please remove the director %LOCALAPPDATA%\WhatPulse and try again. This can be one of the effects of the database integrity checks, which means your database is not integer.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 08:10 AM
Post: #6
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
Okay so i was sent here by someone getting the same error as the second poster.

I tried the fix you said, admin but it still does exactly the same, about the runtime closing it for some reason.

Hmmm....
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 08:47 AM
Post: #7
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
Also having the same problem. Deleted the local app data directory, but it didn't seem to help. Also, the client still seems to have random crashing.
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 08:52 AM
Post: #8
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
Yeah I noticed the random crashing too, so even when it was running I couldnt play games or anything incase it locked up :/
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 09:45 AM
Post: #9
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
I was experiencing the exact same issue as detailed by other people in this thread on updating to WhatPulse 2.1 with the unusual termination error being received from the VC++ runtime whenever trying to start WhatPulse. Also, on receiving this error the process didn't seem to always cleanly exit needing a manual termination via Task Manager or similar.

I seem to have resolved the issue by running WhatPulse as an Administrator. Subsequent execution of WhatPulse now works fine whether I elevate the process via UAC or run with standard privileges. It seems like after updating to WhatPulse 2.1 the first run tries to perform some operations which require Administrator rights and causes a crash if they aren't present?
Find all posts by this user
04-27-2013, 10:12 AM
Post: #10
RE: Updating WP to 2.1
I just tried running as administrator, didnt work for me sadly Sad
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Updating from jessie to buster breaks whatpulse [GoT]Jewest 2 204 10-28-2019 01:17 PM
Last Post: [GoT]Jewest
  [SOLVED] upload and download not updating correctly windows 8.1 MrLinuxFish 1 1,167 02-10-2016 06:20 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] Updating to 2.6 for portable versions without admin access. Strazdas 4 1,920 05-14-2015 05:09 AM
Last Post: Strazdas
  [OS X] Weekly input history chart not updating jedrys 0 1,172 01-05-2015 08:51 PM
Last Post: jedrys
  [SOLVED] Geek Window not Updating in Real Time garrett.miller.3367 3 2,925 09-16-2014 11:14 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  KeysRank not updating Maxwell_SETI.USA 4 4,192 04-03-2014 07:10 PM
Last Post: Maxwell_SETI.USA
  Updating Issues OCNRyahn 4 4,860 09-17-2013 05:17 PM
Last Post: Megachip
  "Windows cannot find 'updater.exe'" error when updating zants 8 13,172 09-15-2013 05:38 PM
Last Post: Bbuullll33rr
  Updating Portable Version Megachip 0 3,114 02-02-2013 02:39 PM
Last Post: Megachip
  Not Updating to WhatPulse.org? no1hasdisid 4 4,956 09-03-2012 07:56 PM
Last Post: X-Kal

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)