WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » linux whatpulse not always starting Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
linux whatpulse not always starting
03-07-2013, 03:30 AM
Post: #1
linux whatpulse not always starting
I'm running Ubuntu. Most of the time I notice that whatpulse does start when I login, I normally have to manually start it. Sometimes its does load. It is in startup applications.

Anything I can do fix this?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-10-2013, 11:56 AM
Post: #2
RE: linux whatpulse not always starting
Does your startup command has the "onstartup" parameter in it? If you have enabled the startup sequence via the client, it will add the "onstartup" parameter on boot. This parameter will cause the client to wait for 3 seconds before actually initialising, as most of the time the linux GUI is not ready loading when linux starts the client.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-10-2013, 12:28 PM
Post: #3
RE: linux whatpulse not always starting
Would it be possible to add settings about the startup delay? I have some old pcs that need more than 3 seconds to load the desktop and that leads to the error message "no traybar running".

For those with the same problem you can use this as a workaround:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

WPPATH='/usr/bin/whatpulse' # Set this to your whatpulse client executable path including the name of the binary file
STARTUPDELAY='15' # Numbers of seconds to wait before launching the client

if [ -f "$WPPATH" ]; then
    sleep $STARTUPDELAY;
    WPPATH
else
    echo "ERROR: Your WhatPulse client executable path seems to be wrong, change it setting the right path and try again";
    exit 1;
fi
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-29-2013, 11:18 AM
Post: #4
RE: linux whatpulse not always starting
(03-10-2013 12:28 PM)alfio8788 Wrote:  Would it be possible to add settings about the startup delay? I have some old pcs that need more than 3 seconds to load the desktop and that leads to the error message "no traybar running".

+1 for customizable delay or even better - detect if tray is present before starting. I have a quite decent computer, but it still fails to start. In fact, gnome *seems* to wait for whatpulse (nothing else appears before this error dialog).
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2013, 12:28 PM
Post: #5
RE: linux whatpulse not always starting
No such problem on Xubuntu 12.04, or 12.10.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question Autostart WhatPulse 3.1 without Confirmation (Win10) blankster 0 77 04-04-2021 04:53 PM
Last Post: blankster
Question Can't install WhatPulse 3.1 correctly (Win10) blankster 0 87 04-04-2021 04:49 PM
Last Post: blankster
  When you switch networks WhatPulse stops tracking bandwidth TheEliteFriendsYT 2 305 04-01-2021 10:05 AM
Last Post: TheEliteFriendsYT
  Problem on starting whatpulse Steven793 1 319 03-29-2021 08:17 AM
Last Post: Resowy
  Snap fails on Manjaro Linux madhead 6 872 01-22-2021 04:40 PM
Last Post: madhead
  3.0 for Linux Bzzz 5 764 01-22-2021 03:43 PM
Last Post: flotwig
Bug WhatPulse 3.0 stops responding when running on start up Mevious 6 1,004 01-17-2021 09:18 PM
Last Post: Mevious
  Whatpulse Client and Windows 10 (20H2) d3FC0N 3 993 12-29-2020 12:54 PM
Last Post: d3FC0N
  Cannot start WhatPulse using Ubuntu 19.10 Adrriii 8 4,023 11-05-2020 02:23 PM
Last Post: Juje
  Cannot start Whatpulse successfully on Manjaro 18.1.4 (Arch Linux) anijatsu 3 2,490 10-25-2020 01:36 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)