WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
12-24-2012, 11:35 AM
Post: #1
WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
Hi! I'm running WhatPulse v2.0 on Win7 Ultimate x64.

It seems to not be recording or detecting any sort of network traffic at all.

I'm currently plugged in directly to my router, i.e. not using wireless at all. Integrated card, not a separate network card

Any help on getting this to work would be greatly appreciated! Thanks~
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-24-2012, 11:57 AM
Post: #2
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
Have you completed the WinPCap installer that is run during the WhatPulse installation?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2012, 12:56 AM
Post: #3
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
(12-24-2012 11:57 AM)smitmartijn Wrote:  Have you completed the WinPCap installer that is run during the WhatPulse installation?

Oh.... my first thought was that it was spam... i think it's an automatic reaction of mine! I'll get that sorted. Thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2012, 01:14 AM
Post: #4
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
Tnx, how simple can it be :-)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2012, 10:03 AM (This post was last modified: 12-25-2012 10:04 AM by [NoV]LaZ.)
Post: #5
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
Hello.

I'm having the same issue, yet I have installed WinPCap along with WhatPulse and it doesn't seem to record network bandwidth. I currently have 0.6KB upload and 0.0KB download after 24 hours of installing 2.0. That's an insignificant amount; either something is wrong or I probably don't understand how the network recording stuff works.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2012, 10:47 AM
Post: #6
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
(12-25-2012 10:03 AM)war1us Wrote:  That's an insignificant amount; either something is wrong or I probably don't understand how the network recording stuff works.

Do the network interfaces in your Network tab coincide with the real network interfaces that you have in your computer? Could be possible it's not seeing your active interface, but is listening to your wireless interface or something similar.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2012, 02:09 PM
Post: #7
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
Same as OP, I don't have a wireless connection, it's an integrated card.

Under the network tab, it doesn't pick any interface. When starting the PC up, Local Area Connection appears as the interface for about 10 secs while uploading with 0.1KB/s and then it disappears.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-25-2012, 02:18 PM
Post: #8
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
As I understand the protocol, WinPCap can record wireless connections. The user has to specify the IP address of the wireless connection to enable the interface in order for WP to count its statistics. Beyond that, an experienced network admin can help set you up. I only understand the basics enough to diagnose the problem and come up with possible solutions.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-26-2012, 02:04 PM
Post: #9
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
(12-24-2012 11:57 AM)smitmartijn Wrote:  Have you completed the WinPCap installer that is run during the WhatPulse installation?

I also thought it was spam, thanks for this answer!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2012, 05:32 PM
Post: #10
RE: WhatPulse 2.0 - Not recording Network traffic
i had the same problem. no network traffic was recorded and the network interfaces list was empty.
i saw that i had installed the TCP/IPv6 protocoll and uninstalled it. now everything is working fine. i run WinXP Blush
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Ubuntu issues with network stats XploD 1 149 10-20-2021 08:21 AM
Last Post: XploD
  WhatPulse randomly stop tracking keyboard strokes anandinasu 0 142 09-29-2021 03:37 AM
Last Post: anandinasu
  Whatpulse 3.2 on Ubuntu 21.04 Lieutenant_Dan 3 893 09-10-2021 11:30 AM
Last Post: kitliasteele
  [SOLVED] WhatPulse Refuses to Start automatically. iisacc 11 12,546 08-23-2021 09:45 PM
Last Post: Tealdragon204
  Whatpulse doesn't track internet up/down correctly on gigibit internet Deuss 2 371 08-19-2021 08:32 PM
Last Post: lvh1
  Whatpulse client stops tracking keys Sylverblack 0 267 08-04-2021 04:31 PM
Last Post: Sylverblack
  WhatPulse error on Linux (Elementary-OS 6) Suxhe 0 437 06-13-2021 10:56 PM
Last Post: Suxhe
  whatpulse is writing to database every second minho 1 658 06-11-2021 07:00 PM
Last Post: Alexey..Zubenko
Question Autostart WhatPulse 3.1 without Confirmation (Win10) blankster 0 684 04-04-2021 04:53 PM
Last Post: blankster
Question Can't install WhatPulse 3.1 correctly (Win10) blankster 0 687 04-04-2021 04:49 PM
Last Post: blankster

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)