WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » Account not found + an elaborate error message Welcome back, Guest.


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Account not found + an elaborate error message
06-20-2010, 03:51 AM
Post: #11
Account not found + an elaborate error message
Re-setup. Peril of using a beta product. Wink
Find all posts by this user
06-20-2010, 07:50 AM (This post was last modified: 06-20-2010 07:57 AM by Supah Fly.)
Post: #12
Account not found + an elaborate error message
i45.tinypic.com/14xfqqu.png

i'll be the one crying.

/cry it's the only thing that works for windows 7 without having to be restarted every 10 minutes :/

can't you just make a fix for it that uses our old xml from the whatpulse install directory (that has correct values) or something that would replace our account names and stuff to make it able to be pulsed

it's not like you are giving us keys it's just you replacing the old account data that is corrupted with the new one without losing keys. being a programmer i know this is possible and it's not going against your "no key refund policy" thing you have going on.

maybe you could make a tool that repairs our corrupted wpws?

we shouldn't be penalized for using the only thing we can use for this operating system regardless of it's "beta" status.

.
Find all posts by this user
06-20-2010, 10:53 AM
Post: #13
Account not found + an elaborate error message
Yes, it's possible to spend hours creating something to manipulate an isolated problem and hope it works.

But it's a beta. It's unfortunate, but it's a beta.
Find all posts by this user
06-20-2010, 04:27 PM
Post: #14
Account not found + an elaborate error message
bobL Wrote:Yes, it's possible to spend hours creating something to manipulate an isolated problem and hope it works.

But it's a beta. It's unfortunate, but it's a beta.

I really honestly can't wrap my head around it taking hours to make something to replace the values in it.. you can read from it, you can write to it... what is keeping you from just writing the correct values to it instead of the messed up ones?

I think it's really unfair that we are forced to use the beta and have a chance of our keys not being able to be pulsed or use the "stable" versions which don't count your keys at all unless you restart it every 10 minutes. It was either: stop using whatpulse altogether or use the "beta" application that in the end malfunctioned. Since we both choose to stay in the project we are the same in that respect, where we aren't the same is in our choice to use the old or the new "beta" client that may have bugs because of additional features along with major fixes that people need to even use whatpulse if you happen to use windows 7. I mean, you fixed the issue with counting in windows 7 and I congratulate you on that but it's not in a "stable" release. If I had my choice I would have stuck with stable but since the beta makes whatpulse usable I had to do it or stop doing it after like 13m keys.

All I'm asking is for 4 more minutes of your time to override the part where it reads the .wpw and sets the variable for my account/profile name and make it automatically use "Supah Fly" and "Aaron" respectively. I can't imagine this being difficult to do at all because I myself program and I just don't know how you could make something so overly-complicated that you can't accomplish something like this without messing everything up. I just want to get my keys pulsed, I don't want all those keys I lost (~700k that whatpulse "stable" didn't count) back..

I just want to keep what I have earned and what the program says I should have. If I were in your shoes and were presented with this problem I would totally help that person out because it's not that difficult to do. I helped you out by making you aware of this issue and I would very much appreciate it if the favor was returned. Would you rather have me complaining in a civilized manner or someone who behaves immaturely and screams at you because they lost a bunch of keys? It's not too much to ask and is practical. I'm just saying.

/rant

.
Find all posts by this user
06-20-2010, 09:09 PM
Post: #15
Account not found + an elaborate error message
Honestly, you are not getting yourself anywhere by sitting here begging for him to make a fix for your isolated issue. I run v1.6.2.1 on Windows 7 and I have yet to experience any issues that the rest of the Windows 7 users have. You are just unlucky. It happens, how about you think back to when the first v1.4.7 betas came out? They were personally responsible for horrible CPU usage as well as key loss. I think you losing some keys is a lot better than the memory leaks and computer processing power experienced by those of us who used that version.

Furthermore, our .wpw are very delicate to edit, and even the people who code the program cannot always read their contents. It is an issue we've never cared to fix because we share a common stance in that we do not replace loss keys due to WhatPulse errors. It's not fair for the users who cannot prove, and it's also not fair for those users who attempt to circumvent the protections that we have in the program and then come to us to restore the keys that they lost when they failed miserably.

bobL has already told you he is unwilling to do it for you, and I am reinforcing this. If you continue to ask for it, I will remove your posting privileges. We don't ask for much, and it has been stated countless times that we do not restore keys.

~Century0
Find all posts by this user
06-21-2010, 12:44 AM
Post: #16
Account not found + an elaborate error message
NB: It will not take four minutes.
NB: The longer you leave the reset of WP, the more keys you're gonna lose.
Find all posts by this user
06-21-2010, 06:52 AM
Post: #17
Account not found + an elaborate error message
You're asking for it...

Supah Fly Wrote:i'll be the one crying.
[...]
we shouldn't be penalized for using the only thing we can use for this operating system regardless of it's "beta" status.

Supah Fly Wrote:I think it's really unfair that we are forced to use the beta and have a chance of our keys not being able to be pulsed
[...]
I just want to keep what I have earned and what the program says I should have.
[...]Would you rather have me complaining in a civilized manner or someone who behaves immaturely and screams at you because they lost a bunch of keys?

Oh, yes, I'd definitely prefer someone who reacts in a civilized manner, but unfortunately you don't always get what you wish for...

You using the word "cry" really made me LOL. You're kidding, right? A program says you punched a few hundred thousand keys on your keyboard, the equivalent of a day or two of gaming. So what? Do you really consider that an accomplishment? Would you put it into your CV? Do you boast about it among your friends? And don't you think a hamster running around in circles on your keyboard couldn't do the same? I mean, come on, it's not like you've typed you PhD thesis and lost that.

You're not forced to use anything. Neither can you possibly be penalized in any way by having a free service offered to you. You're really being ridiculous here. Be happy that WhatPulse exists at all, and that the volunteers working on it are investing so much of their time into it!

As of now, WhatPulse is officially unsupported and known to be broken on Windows 7. That's unfortunate, but nontheless a fact. It's a gesture of kindness towards our users that unsupported, provided-as-is, no-warranty-whatsoever beta builds are being provided that might or might not fix any problems. Using them is your own risk. Even if they made your computer explode and killed your cat in the process, there'd be no compensation at all, not even for the keys you "lost" due to the explosion.

Live with it, and please stop whining.
Find all posts by this user
06-22-2010, 04:48 PM
Post: #18
Account not found + an elaborate error message
jmrk Wrote:Live with it, and please stop whining.

Why bear the slogan "Taking pulsing to another generation" when you can't even release a client that works on Windows 7 correctly? What generation are you taking it to? Windows 7 is this generation and where is Whatpulse? Still at Windows Vista? Do you not know about Windows 7 since you use Linux?

You are going after ME, the guy who posted the crying thing AFTER GottZ did. Why only me and not him? Obviously both of ours were jokes because that would be stupid if we actually did cry or did you say all of that in a fit of extreme rage and ignore that?

Long post that I didn't even read, what a shame. I did read over it lightly and see "be happy Whatpulse even exists"? It's not something that only these guys can make, it's just a key logger that doesn't store the sequence of keys for malicious purposes. You work on core functionality before additional features. It's only logical and I can't really see the reason this wasn't done. You are also getting way too worked up over something someone you don't even know said on a message board and no, I don't boast that I have 16 million keys and 4 million clicks counted. I just think it's cool to see where I'm at now as compared to 3 years ago. I could just as easily ask you the same thing because you are probably a hypocrite but hey, I'll let you ponder that on your own.


You can't even reset your token because apparently my account doesn't exist (lol bug).

Whatpulse stops working (lol more bugs) when I try to enter my account details after I wipe the folder clean.

After that I get the nice "whatpulse has stopped working" message and then close it, then I start it up again and it seems to work.


If your client can't read the .wpw files then I don't even understand how the thing even functions properly. If the client can read it and write to it then it can write whatever it wants to it. I'd consider rewriting your client code to make it easier for you to understand if you can't even change a few variables (why would it be harder than that) so they are my actual profile details.

I really don't see what makes this client so hard to compile and write that what I am asking can't be done in a matter of seconds. But I suppose it's too late now though.

To the guy who said you get them back gaming, I don't use my computer for games all too often and when I do Whatpulse probably doesn't count that much because I hold the keys down.

You also can't restore things that haven't been lost, you can however restore things that have been lost. The only thing you would have been restoring is the functionality of your program, the one that should have been functioning normally without those additional "features". I have used Whatpulse for 3 years and now it has some kind of encryption error? Only explanation is new, barely tested features that weren't in the other versions.

You each will be able to tell who I am talking to throughout my post and sorry for not doing it in a more organized format.


I'm willing to move on if you are willing to too, let's pretend this conversation never happened. No sense in dwelling on something stupid like this since it's already over with. Agreed?

.
Find all posts by this user
06-22-2010, 06:24 PM
Post: #19
Account not found + an elaborate error message
Supah Fly Wrote:I'm willing to move on if you are willing to too, let's pretend this conversation never happened. No sense in dwelling on something stupid like this since it's already over with. Agreed?

Sounds like a plan, after clarifying a few things:

- WhatPulse is not a 'script'. It's a pretty big program inside and just changing variables to 'write some stuff' will not work. BobL would have to create a new program using the same encryption code, so yes, it would probably take a few hours, if not a few days.

- Yes, Windows 7 has been a pain in the butt for us. I've probably spent 4 weeks fulltime trying other methods and looking for a solution. Every discussion formed about this issue/windows 7 bug, confirms it, but does not have a solution. I'm about to call Microsoft and purchase support to get the evildoers themselves to help.

Until it has been resolved and there isn't a 'Beta' string inside the about box, it's still a beta. If you don't want to risk it malfunctioning once and a while, stick to the version on the download page. (even if you have to restart it once and a while to get the counting back)

I'm considering this topic closed, you can contact me directly if you do not feel the same.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question [Win7x64 WP2.5] Error while pulsing: "Wrong Password! Try again." Diamundo 8 2,913 08-24-2019 08:52 AM
Last Post: ste0
  Server error: Missing input! with whatpulse 2.8.4 on Win10 Franck.Dernoncourt 2 343 07-28-2019 08:11 PM
Last Post: Franck.Dernoncourt
Bug server error sggxp 0 231 04-25-2019 04:50 AM
Last Post: sggxp
  [SOLVED] Error uploading keyboard/mouse heatmap Wopian 2 638 03-17-2017 12:26 PM
Last Post: Wopian
  [SOLVED] [postmortem] Pulse error: "The specified configuration cannot be used." dgw 4 1,324 03-03-2017 09:54 PM
Last Post: dgw
  [CLOSED] Debian Stretch: OpenSSL library not found wullxz 1 672 02-27-2017 05:31 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [FIXED] SSL Handshake Error JetSet 9 1,409 01-09-2017 09:39 AM
Last Post: AmokOwe
  [CLOSED] Account or computer unknown! FH_3 3 3,801 05-30-2016 01:15 AM
Last Post: Zweieck2
  Server Error Missing INput Please COntact the Developers arsha99 1 1,533 07-01-2015 07:41 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  error : Wrong password! Try again wazup 2 2,666 06-01-2015 08:42 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)