WhatPulse Forums
Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic (/showthread.php?tid=7801)



Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Lodisen - 04-16-2019 12:02 PM

https://imgur.com/a/YZbf2ga

It records the traffic under the summary, but it does not get pulsed.
I assume it counts as Local Traffic.

In this particular case i was syncing to Google Drive.

Is this a router setting i need to change for the internet traffic to be counted correctly or something similar?


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Lodisen - 04-25-2019 07:59 PM

https://imgur.com/a/z919dpX

Prime example of what's going on.
And it's not my PC. Same thing on 3 different PC's.


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Lodisen - 04-27-2019 08:35 PM

No reply from Devs or anything. I wont continue with Premium and uninstall.


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - FamilienVater - 04-28-2019 12:34 PM

I have a similar problem - with all PCs and Linux/Windows. Above a certain speed, traffic is not counted. Started realizing it when my internet became faster than ~200MBit. So above something like 20MByte per second it suddenly is not counted at all - I suspect that the library being used can't cope with that amount of data - or it's a safety thing. I also noticed more memory leaking (it got better over time - the early client was a real problem there) the faster you transfer data. Found that out by using FileZilla and activating speed limits.

I guess the problem would only solve itself if network traffic would not be inspected anymore and all traffic would be counted equally, it being internal or external - that would just require reading the information from the network interface.


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Lodisen - 04-29-2019 08:30 AM

Would be nice to hear something from the Devs.
But people with +1 PB upload can't really have that restriction imposed on them.


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - FamilienVater - 04-29-2019 08:39 AM

Well... I looked at the top guy and it looks plausible... -> max. I could see was 50GB download in an hour from one pc -> ~14MB per second, that falls below 20MB per second.
The guy has 5 PCs -> each of them could be running at e.g. 15MB per second and it would add up over time. Traffic monitoring is a feature for years now...

I also noticed that it depends a bit on the hardware and OS. newer pc could handle a bit more... but that might also just be either a coincidence or me not measuring properly Wink


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Aron77 - 05-05-2019 02:19 PM

My computer cannot log in the client, could you please help me to solve it


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Lodisen - 05-13-2019 10:48 AM

(05-05-2019 02:19 PM)Aron77 Wrote:  My computer cannot log in the client, could you please help me to solve it
What does that have to do with my thread?


RE: Whatpulse is not recognizing internet traffic - Trapton - 05-22-2019 05:35 PM

You could try exchanging WinPcap with Npcap. https://nmap.org/npcap/
WinPcap does not support NDIS 6.0 which is used since Windows 7 and so traffic can slip through.

On the WinPcap page you are also referred to Npcap, which I have been using for several months now and have no problems with it. (No guarantee)
Quit WhatPulse -> uninstall WinPcap -> install Npcap and start WhatPulse. Maybe a restart if it doesn't work immediately.

Here you can also find the hints of the WinPcap developer: https://www.winpcap.org/