WhatPulse Forums
[CLOSED] Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: [CLOSED] Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS (/showthread.php?tid=7587)



[CLOSED] Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - GnaXi - 07-08-2016 06:02 AM

Hello!

I'm running Ubuntu 16.04 LTS on my workstation together with the latest version of WhatPulse (2.7.1).
Keys, Clicks and Uptime is recorded and pulsed correctly, but I am not able to get it to record Download and Upload without running it as root.

I have run: setcap cap_net_raw,cap_net_admin=eip ./whatpulse (even as root), but still, it doesn't seem to have the correct permissions to record data.

Error I'm getting is:
DEBUG Couldn't open device "eno1" : eno1: You don't have permission to capture on that device (socket: Operation not permitted)

Workaround would be to run it as root, but then the GUI isn't shown.


RE: Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - smitmartijn - 07-08-2016 09:35 PM

Hi,

Could you try a slightly different syntax? I'm seeing this one related to 16.04:

setcap 'CAP_NET_RAW+eip CAP_NET_ADMIN+eip' /path/to/whatpulse

Otherwise it might be an idea to run it with setuid:

chown root /path/to/whatpulse
chmod u+s /path/to/whatpulse


RE: Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - GnaXi - 08-05-2016 08:05 AM

Sorry about the late reply! When I try the suggested command, I get:

Failed to set capabilities on file `/whatpulse' (Invalid argument)
The value of the capability argument is not permitted for a file. Or the file is not a regular (non-symlink) file

I also tried changing owner of whatpulse to root as suggested.


RE: Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - GnaXi - 09-09-2016 12:25 PM

Any idea to what else I could try?


RE: Network traffic not recorded on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - smitmartijn - 09-15-2016 03:33 AM

Not for permanent, but try running it as root, see if that resolves the error and if it's running properly.

If it does, then it's still an issue of permissions. Maybe you've got selinux or something similar set up? If you've done the setcap stuff, I'm afraid I don't have much else for you..