WhatPulse Forums
WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Community (/forumdisplay.php?fid=34)
+--- Forum: Beta client (/forumdisplay.php?fid=74)
+---- Forum: Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=80)
+---- Thread: WhatPulse 2.7b2 (/showthread.php?tid=7157)

Pages: 1 2


WhatPulse 2.7b2 - smitmartijn - 01-08-2016 10:20 PM

Due to the excellent feedback received on the first beta of 2.7, the second beta is packed with all kinds of good stuff!

Client API
This is the third major feature on 2.7 and enables developers to grab real-time data from the client and use that data inside their own application. More information will follow on a new website called Developer Center which will feature explanations of both the Client & Web API, plus example code. For now, open your browser to http://localhost:3490 to explore (after enabling the Client API in your settings, as it's turned off by default).

Network Data
There have been several improvements to the network data; the interfaces, application and traffic types stats have all gotten time selectors so you can browse historic data on all three stats. You can now customise the names of the traffic types by creating a custom CSV (more on that in a separate forum post).

More
There's a bunch more, check out the release notes for the full list.

Downloads:
You can also use the updater if you have the "check for betas" option enabled.

- Windows: http://static.whatpulse.org/files/beta/whatpulse-win-2.7b2.exe
- OS X: http://static.whatpulse.org/files/beta/whatpulse-mac-2.7b2.dmg

Changes:



RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Inquizitor - 01-09-2016 01:47 AM

Quote:/v1/pulse POST Execute a pulse

Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?

Also, it'd be great if wildcards (*) worked with the API access control list (if for example I wanted to whitelist 192.0.* to allow any client/application on my LAN to access the API)


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - smitmartijn - 01-09-2016 01:42 PM

(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  
Quote:/v1/pulse POST Execute a pulse
Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?

Yep! As long as you have access network-wise, you'll be able to pulse remotely. I'm actually working on an example where I have a physical button that can do a pulse. :-)

(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  Also, it'd be great if wildcards (*) worked with the API access control list (if for example I wanted to whitelist 192.0.* to allow any client/application on my LAN to access the API)

Noted!


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Wopian - 01-09-2016 02:34 PM

Quote:This is the third major feature on 2.7 and enables developers to grab real-time data from the client and use that data inside their own application

Sweet now I can have real-time stats on my homepage whenever I get round to actually making it.



The Traffic Types panel freezes (and sometimes goes non-responsive) when switching to it and it takes forever for it to scroll down when clicking on the scrollbar/mousewheel - if it ever does. (Windows 10 Pro)


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Megachip - 01-09-2016 06:10 PM

(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  
Quote:/v1/pulse POST Execute a pulse
Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?
For what will this nessesary? You can only type at one pc at once Wink Thought monitoring servers and non user machines is not welcome here?

The new version seems not scaling correct on realtime bandwitdh.

The insert into post seems not working (at least in edge)


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Wopian - 01-09-2016 08:57 PM

(01-09-2016 06:10 PM)Megachip Wrote:  
(01-09-2016 01:47 AM)Inquizitor Wrote:  Does this mean that I can make all of my devices pulse remotely?
For what will this nessesary? You can only type at one pc at once Wink Thought monitoring servers and non user machines is not welcome here?

One such case that I'll be using:

1. You have your personal computer(s).
2. You go out of the house
3. You get your phone out and sent a pulse request to (all) your PC(s) at home
4. Profit.


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Drake356 - 01-10-2016 10:40 AM

A concern I have noticed is that while torrenting various things is that the database of my new (old) computer has become massive in size the a very short time span. The database is nearing 160 MiB after 5 days of uptime with just network and uptime as compared to my current desktop build with 30 days of uptime and a database under 12 MiB. This massive size due to the huge number of parts and data for each of them also seems to be what causes the client to freeze for minutes at a time while trying to load the list of ports.

Update: 2 days later and I'm up to 285 MiB


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - Megachip - 01-14-2016 08:53 AM

Auto/Manual update on OS X did not detect b2.

Zoom in Build 1316 (in country map on windows) is still ab bit unhandily.


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - smitmartijn - 01-15-2016 07:13 PM

(01-10-2016 10:40 AM)Drake356 Wrote:  A concern I have noticed is that while torrenting various things is that the database of my new (old) computer has become massive in size the a very short time span.

Could you share your db file with me so I can have a look at the data that's being stored? I knew it could get big (and there's going to be a 'delete older than x weeks/months' option), but that's way larger than I expected.

Upload it to a Dropbox-like share and send me the link privately (martijn@whatpulse.org)


RE: WhatPulse 2.7b2 - smitmartijn - 01-15-2016 07:15 PM

(01-14-2016 08:53 AM)Megachip Wrote:  Auto/Manual update on OS X did not detect b2.
Zoom in Build 1316 (in country map on windows) is still ab bit unhandily.

The first one is my bad; I didn't version the beta 1 build properly. I labeled it 2.7b1 internally, which should've been 2.6.3-xxxx

Second one...would it be possible for you to create a small video clip and put that somewhere? I've looked into that in b1 and thought I fixed it (it was zooming properly in testing)