WhatPulse Forums
Inactive interfaces, PPPOE connection - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: Inactive interfaces, PPPOE connection (/showthread.php?tid=5867)



Inactive interfaces, PPPOE connection - Cyph - 12-23-2014 09:53 PM

I am having some problems after switching from providers. Whatpulse on my Ubuntu machine is no longer detecting traffic on the eth0 interface.

The interfaces are setup like this.
Eth0 <--> Switch <--> WAN
Eth1 <--> Router <--> Local network

The switch sends the traffic from my provider from vlan6 to eth0 on my Ubuntu machine, vlan6 being my internet traffic. Before I can use this connection I need to login using a PPPOE connection.

Whatpulse lists 3 interfaces in total and only eth1 is shown as active (belonging to my local network).

ppp0 -> inactive
eth1 -> active
eth0 -> inactive

It was detecting traffic for a little while on the ppp0 and eth0 after updating to version 2,5 but after restarting whatpulse it stopped showing those interfaces as active again.


Is there any way to use whatpulse on the eth0 interface of the ubuntu machine?


RE: Inactive interfaces, PPPOE connection - smitmartijn - 01-01-2015 07:21 PM

Could you make your app.log file visible for me somewhere?

If it did register 'for a little while' are you sure you haven't simply ignored the interface? Haven't really seen it work and then just stop mid-flight..


RE: Inactive interfaces, PPPOE connection - Cyph - 01-01-2015 08:28 PM

Logs from when starting WhatPulse.

Code:
01-01-2015 21:26:21.752  INFO "Starting WhatPulse 2.5..."
01-01-2015 21:26:21.914 DEBUG Database file:  "/home/cypher/.local/share/data/WhatPulse/whatpulse.db"
01-01-2015 21:26:21.917 DEBUG Database check:  "ok"
01-01-2015 21:26:21.919 DEBUG Opened database in:  6 ms
01-01-2015 21:26:21.940 DEBUG Found proper permissions for network monitoring
01-01-2015 21:26:21.950 DEBUG Encrypted file:  "/home/cypher/.local/share/data/WhatPulse/whatpulse.wpw"
01-01-2015 21:26:22.004 DEBUG Loaded application aliases
01-01-2015 21:26:22.571 DEBUG Opening GeoIP database:  "/home/cypher/.local/share/data/WhatPulse/GeoIP.dat"
01-01-2015 21:26:22.614 DEBUG WhatPulse  2.5  has started
01-01-2015 21:26:23.190 DEBUG Starting timers and collector..
01-01-2015 21:26:23.232 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event0"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.232 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event1"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.233 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event10"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.233 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event11"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.233 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event12"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.233 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event2"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.234 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event3"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.234 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event4"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.235 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event5"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.235 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event6"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.235 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event7"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.235 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event8"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.235 DEBUG Creating device listener for "/dev/input/event9"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.236 DEBUG Starting PfRingNetworkTrafficMonitor..
01-01-2015 21:26:23.259 DEBUG PF-Ring thread started
01-01-2015 21:26:23.783  WARN Failed to open:  "/sys/class/net/tun0/device/vendor"  or  "/sys/class/net/tun0/device/device"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.784  WARN Failed to open:  "/sys/class/net/ppp0/device/vendor"  or  "/sys/class/net/ppp0/device/device"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.786  WARN Failed to open:  "/sys/class/net/eth0.10/device/vendor"  or  "/sys/class/net/eth0.10/device/device"
01-01-2015 21:26:23.788  WARN Failed to open:  "/sys/class/net/eth1/device/vendor"  or  "/sys/class/net/eth1/device/device"

The issue is probably related with the fact that it failed to open the interfaces but not sure why it is failing. Hope this tells you something essential.


RE: Inactive interfaces, PPPOE connection - smitmartijn - 01-01-2015 09:11 PM

Nope, the "failed to open" message is about getting a description for the interface. Unfortunately the capturing methods in the OS that the client leverages don't seem to be able to handle PPPOE interfaces, there are others having issues with other applications that capture traffic as well. I don't think there's anything you can do about it, if the client doesn't get data, it can't process it..