WhatPulse Forums
Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. (/showthread.php?tid=5612)

Pages: 1 2


Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - micycle - 10-22-2014 06:37 PM

Per-Application Pulsing Issue

I'll use League of Legends as an example:

Let's say, within a pulse, I first play version 4.1, accumulate 5000 keystrokes and 5000 clicks and then the application is updated to version 4.2 (I have not yet pulsed). The keystrokes in version 4.2 are recorded as per the overall stats but when I pulse and look at the application data (on the website), only 5000 clicks and 5000 keys will be seen - the totals accumulated in the first version of any given pulse.

This occurs if the .exe's , when updated, are located in different folders*, because Whatpulse seems to have difficulty in recognising them as the same applications.

*
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.47/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.48/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.49/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.50/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.52/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.53/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.54/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.55/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.56/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.58/deploy/league of legends.exe
b:/lol/league of legends/rads/solutions/lol_game_client_sln/releases/0.0.1.59/deploy/league of legends.exe

*

This happened when I pulsed today. Just today, I accumulated within League of Legends 5'119 keystrokes and 10'459 clicks, whereas the pulse lists 4'128 keystrokes and 5,577 clicks (probably from yesterday, when the game version was different). These totals should be added, and Whatpulse is failing to do this.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - micycle - 04-09-2015 08:46 AM

V. 2.5-1157: Client is still behaving like this.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - smitmartijn - 04-10-2015 08:47 AM

Technically a different version is a different application, so it is working as expected. On the website, it is consolidated onto the 'League of Legends' application registration, so I don't really see a problem.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - Robby250 - 04-10-2015 09:07 AM

Well, if the different versions are consolidated into one on the website, shouldn't the keystrokes from each version be consolidated as well? That sounds logical to me


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - micycle - 04-10-2015 04:50 PM

(04-10-2015 09:07 AM)Robby250 Wrote:  Well, if the different versions are consolidated into one on the website, shouldn't the keystrokes from each version be consolidated as well? That sounds logical to me

Yes, this doesn't seem to happen, and that's the issue.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - smitmartijn - 04-12-2015 09:03 AM

It doesn't? You only have one league of legends application in your list: https://www.evernote.com/shard/s258/sh/6179d306-896a-4b58-a58b-4f0f06f215b5/dbd58605f0187b849381237bbc7f79ed/deep/0/micycle---WhatPulse.png


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - Robby250 - 04-12-2015 09:55 AM

He says that the different versions ARE consolidated on the website, but that their stats AREN'T consolidated, only one of the versions' stats are picked. At least that's what I understood.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - mewturn - 04-12-2015 09:59 AM

I have this similar problem, however with separate applications (pythonw.exe and Tibia Player)

There are multiple pythonw.exe and Tibia Player applications on my computer with the same name, but once an application is recognized as the "main" one, counts from the other app is not uploaded onto the site anymore, although both are counted under the same application on the desktop app.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - smitmartijn - 04-12-2015 10:02 AM

I'm not quite getting it still, but will do some testing with same applications in different folders, see what happens.

(04-12-2015 09:59 AM)mewturn Wrote:  I have this similar problem, however with separate applications (pythonw.exe and Tibia Player)

That's not the same thing, as wrappers like python or java are the actual process and do not really disclose any information about the actual application running inside python or java, which makes it impossible for the client to detect it properly.


RE: Per-Application Pulsing Issue. - mewturn - 04-12-2015 10:06 AM

(04-12-2015 10:02 AM)smitmartijn Wrote:  That's not the same thing, as wrappers like python or java are the actual process and do not really disclose any information about the actual application running inside python or java, which makes it impossible for the client to detect it properly.

So if I run applications that are not similar in nature to these files (python / java), but located in different folders, would WhatPulse recognize them as the same application?

On a side note, shouldn't WhatPulse also count the stats for the application under the main application name such as pythonw.exe or Java Runtime Library or something?