WhatPulse Forums
New icon - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: New icon (/showthread.php?tid=524)

Pages: 1 2


New icon - Kyrremann - 03-13-2009 06:38 PM

I was wondering if it was possible to get the black 'W' icon back. I don't like the white square with the grey 'W' at all.


New icon - (_KoDAk_) - 03-13-2009 08:04 PM

add black 'W' icon and Green like in v1.5


New icon - bobL - 03-13-2009 09:24 PM

Shortest answer I can give you is a no. I might tweak the design a bit to make the shading stand out more (if you look really really closely there's shading Tongue) but until a later version, it'll remain the current icon.


New icon - Kyrremann - 03-13-2009 09:47 PM

Okey. What about tweaking the square away from the design Wink That the thing that bother me the most.


New icon - bobL - 03-13-2009 10:11 PM

Again, until a later version (~2), it'll remain relatively the same. Hopefully it'll grow on you before then Wink


New icon - Jon - 03-14-2009 12:01 AM

Use resHack to change the icon yourself! Sorted!

Link: http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=download+reshack
Info: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoBqGBqa0cw


New icon - bobL - 03-14-2009 12:31 AM

Isn't that illegal?


New icon - Jon - 03-14-2009 01:41 AM

It depends, that progam only lets you edit resources such as images and strings used by the program, it dosnt actualy let you alter the compiled code in any way. If its specificaly stated in the terms and conditions of WhatPulse client that you cant do this (which it isnt as their is only a "as is" licence agreement) then it would be a problem.

The only directly illegal thing you can do is use the program to steal the icon etc as thats copyright infringment.


New icon - Century0 - 03-14-2009 01:46 AM

bobL Wrote:Shortest answer I can give you is a no. I might tweak the design a bit to make the shading stand out more (if you look really really closely there's shading Tongue) but until a later version, it'll remain the current icon.

Why not just give an option to use both? I personally strongly dislike this icon. It stands out way too much.

~Century0


New icon - Jon - 03-14-2009 02:11 AM

As far as I know the way an icon is embedded into a program can depend on wheather or not its done manualy or by the IDE the developers using. I wouldnt think you could change it dynamicaly (via user input) after that but you do get sys-tray icons for things like anti-virus program that have simple animations to show you their updating or something. So if simple animation is possible (although very basic) it must be possible to provide the option to change icon, even if it is only through a setting in the program.

But I say their are more important things that need attention as of now and that would be this annoying bug thats stopping people from pulsing.