WhatPulse Forums
WhatPulse on pfSense - Printable Version

+- WhatPulse Forums (http://whatpulse.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Support (/forumdisplay.php?fid=38)
+--- Forum: Client software (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Thread: WhatPulse on pfSense (/showthread.php?tid=4597)



WhatPulse on pfSense - Johners - 03-05-2014 09:44 PM

Greetings,

I was wondering if it is possible to run WhatPulse on pfSense so it logs all the traffic at a router level.

pfSense is based off of BSD and I know there are ways to get Linux applications running under BSD via a compatibility layer.

So, has anybody got this working?


RE: WhatPulse on pfSense - newton - 03-06-2014 08:10 PM

Personally never seen people do this - but WhatPulse is also not meant to be used like that either. It's meant to be run on desktop computers, not routers. Here's some conversation on that if you're interested.


RE: WhatPulse on pfSense - smitmartijn - 03-07-2014 03:00 PM

The WhatPulse client cannot run headless (without GUI), plus the applications on pfSense are not really interesting, as you probably mean the applications behind the firewall and on the clients in your network.

There are much better programs to do this: https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/How_can_I_monitor_bandwidth_usage