WhatPulse Forums » Support » Client software v » [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password Welcome back, Guest.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
01-07-2013, 10:07 PM
Post: #1
Music [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
[Image: 2v96c80.jpg]

Every time Whatpulse loses it's connection it asks for the admin password.

Mac OS X, Mountain Lion.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2013, 12:18 AM
Post: #2
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
Same problem, whenever I log in it asks for the admin password.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2013, 09:43 AM
Post: #3
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
I was getting this too, and when you put your credentials in it just keeps pestering for them over and over again.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-12-2013, 02:53 PM
Post: #4
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
(01-07-2013 10:07 PM)guitarist.nl Wrote:  Every time Whatpulse loses it's connection it asks for the admin password.

When you say "loses it's connection" - do you mean after a restart or re-login?

Either way, could you guys see if the directory /Library/System/ChmodBPF exists? It is a script which comes with the installer to set certain permissions to grant WhatPulse access to the network interfaces.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-13-2013, 02:31 AM (This post was last modified: 01-14-2013 12:36 AM by wonder_al.)
Post: #5
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
I ran chown -R root /Library/StartupItems/ChmodBPF and it seems to have worked for now.

Edit: Went back to asking for the password when I wake it up.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2013, 01:23 AM
Post: #6
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
I get this too. It happens when I plug in, or unplug my Ethernet cord and switch to wifi on my MacBook. Connections aren't maintained when the IP address changes. It is very annoying and has happened ever since the first 2.0 beta.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-17-2013, 06:10 PM
Post: #7
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
Well this is getting weird then, it seems like your OSX is resetting the permissions of the /dev/bpf* devices on a sleep - which is undocumented behaviour, and I've never seen that happen myself.

Do you have any special apps running that protect the system? Like an antivirus or network management software?

(if you just want the messages to go away, disable network stats)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2013, 05:40 PM
Post: #8
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
Hi smitmartijn, I'm seeing the same behavior as described, no special tools like you're asking for afaik.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2013, 07:56 PM
Post: #9
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
I have several utilities running including iStat Menus 4, f.lux, Growl, GrowlTunes, gfxCardStatus, Dropbox, MenuWeather, XtraFinder, NerdTool, and BetterTouchTool. The only thing that could interfere with network stuff would be iStat Menus 4. And that is a must have for me. I'll see if Whatpulse works with iStat Menus not running.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-31-2013, 09:13 PM (This post was last modified: 01-31-2013 09:14 PM by Roelant.)
Post: #10
RE: [MAC] after connection loss WP asks for admin password
(01-31-2013 07:56 PM)bman4789 Wrote:  I have several utilities running including iStat Menus 4, f.lux, Growl, GrowlTunes, gfxCardStatus, Dropbox, MenuWeather, XtraFinder, NerdTool, and BetterTouchTool. The only thing that could interfere with network stuff would be iStat Menus 4. And that is a must have for me. I'll see if Whatpulse works with iStat Menus not running.

Well, to - possibly- narrow down things a bit: from that list, I'm only using f.lux and iStats Pro (though as a widget in the dash, not the menubar version). F.lux doesn't seem that interesting, but iStats does monitor network traffic as well, so that might be what's tinkering with network-monitoring-permissions. Wink
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [SOLVED] WhatPulse does not allow me to pulse and does not pulse after 50k keys LSC99bolt 2 206 09-30-2017 08:13 PM
Last Post: LSC99bolt
  Mac reinstall iOChris 0 202 08-18-2017 07:41 PM
Last Post: iOChris
Bug Nothing Counting while Logged on Direct after Prior RDP Session Marykay 1 372 08-11-2017 05:52 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [FIXED] Mac client causing latency every ~10 seconds bryandh 20 3,855 07-05-2017 08:27 PM
Last Post: dkuebric
  Whatpulse doesn't start after upgrade to Sierra Jnsn 1 658 07-02-2017 02:54 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
Music Unable to pulse, wrong password? Renewed 0 511 04-22-2017 01:36 PM
Last Post: Renewed
  Mac not recording keystrokes. mylesmiller 1 681 02-24-2017 09:35 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  Using Significant Energy Under Mac OSX Sierra DJLunacy 0 565 02-09-2017 07:16 AM
Last Post: DJLunacy
  [SOLVED] Best solution for delaying whatpulse until after panel loads fennectech 1 1,110 09-15-2016 03:36 AM
Last Post: smitmartijn
  [CLOSED] Mac client, network traffic reading but not pulsing dacheat 1 1,158 05-23-2016 02:11 PM
Last Post: smitmartijn

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)